Payroll · United States
Patriot Software pricing: what it actually costs per employee at 5, 10, 25 and 50
At 10 employees, the cheapest plan Patriot Software publishes is Basic Payroll: $57 a month — $5.70 per employee per month, base fee included.
- Price statusPublished list price
- Prices read onchecked 2026-09-27
- Last recorded changenone recorded since we started checking
No vendor we hold publishes a cheaper monthly total at this headcount.
On its cheapest published plan, Patriot Software costs $57 a month for 10 employees, which is $5.70 per employee per month.
At 5 employees the same plan works out at $7.40 per employee — the headline figure of $4 assumes the base fee is spread over more people.
What the vendor publishes
| Plan | Base / month | Per employee / month | Eligibility as published | What the vendor states |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic Payroll | $17 | $4 | No headcount condition published | Standard price; billed in arrears; promo "30 days free + 50% off for 3 months" (no end date shown) (promo: $8.50/mo + $2/worker) |
| Full Service Payroll | $37 | $5 | No headcount condition published | Standard price; billed in arrears; $12/month per additional state filing beyond first state; promo "30 days free + 50% off for 3 months" (no end date shown) (promo: $18.50/mo + $2.50/worker) |
Setup fee: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-27).
Minimum contract: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-27).
Add-on fees the vendor publishes
These are the extra charges Patriot Software states on the same pricing page, for things the headline price does not cover. They are the only add-on figures we hold for Patriot Software: anything else it charges is not published, and we do not estimate it. The calculator can add them for your headcount under its advanced options.
| Plan | Item | Fee | Charged | The vendor's wording |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full Service Payroll | Multi-state payroll | $12 | a month for each state after the first | $12 a month per additional state filing beyond the first |
What that works out at per employee
Vendors quote a per-employee fee and a base fee separately. What you actually pay per employee is both of them divided by your headcount, so the smaller your team, the further the real figure sits above the advertised one. This table is Patriot Software's published prices put through that division.
| Plan | 1 | 5 | 10 | 25 | 50 | 100 | 250 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic Payroll | $21.00 | $7.40 | $5.70 | $4.68 | $4.34 | $4.17 | $4.07 |
| Full Service Payroll | $42.00 | $12.40 | $8.70 | $6.48 | $5.74 | $5.37 | $5.15 |
Columns are employee counts. Scroll sideways on a phone.
No other adjustment is applied. We do not add estimated tax-filing fees, discounts, or promotional pricing. The full method is at Method.
Where the base fee stops mattering
On Basic Payroll, the $17 base fee is 46% of the monthly bill at 5 employees and 8% at 50. That is the whole of why the effective figure falls as a team grows: the fee does not change, the number of people carrying it does.
Who this suits, and who it does not
- If price is the only thing you are deciding on, Patriot Software is the cheapest published option we hold for payroll in this market at 10 employees.
- If your headcount is under 5, the base fee of $17 dominates the bill. Check the per-employee column at your actual size before comparing anything.
- If you are not ready to decide, wait. Published prices change without notice and the figures here are only as current as 2026-09-27. Confirm on the vendor's own page before you sign.
Where each figure comes from
Every figure above is either a number Patriot Software publishes or a gap it leaves. Field by field: what we hold, which of the vendor's own pages it was read from, the day it was read, and the vendor's wording where we have it. Nothing in this table comes from a third party, and no blank is filled with an estimate.
Show the source of every figure on this page (21 fields)
| Plan | Field | What we hold | Read from | Read on | The vendor's wording |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| — | Setup fee | Not stated in the vendor's published documentation | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | |
| — | Minimum contract | Not stated in the vendor's published documentation | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | |
| — | Free trial | 30 days | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | |
| Basic Payroll | Monthly base fee | $17 | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | |
| Basic Payroll | Per-employee fee | $4 | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | |
| Basic Payroll | Tax filing | Not included | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | Full Service Payroll is listed as "Everything in Basic, PLUS" "Federal tax filings & deposits", "State tax filings & deposits" and "Local tax filings & deposits" |
| Basic Payroll | Direct deposit | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | "Free direct deposit" |
| Basic Payroll | Year-end forms | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | "Electronic or printable W-2s" |
| Basic Payroll | Off-cycle runs | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | "Unlimited payrolls" |
| Basic Payroll | Contractor payments | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | "Pay contractors in payroll"; the per-worker fee is charged "per worker paid" |
| Basic Payroll | Conditions on the price | — | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | Standard price; billed in arrears; promo "30 days free + 50% off for 3 months" (no end date shown) (promo: $8.50/mo + $2/worker) |
| Full Service Payroll | Monthly base fee | $37 | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | |
| Full Service Payroll | Per-employee fee | $5 | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | |
| Full Service Payroll | Tax filing | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | "Federal tax filings & deposits", "State tax filings & deposits", "Local tax filings & deposits" |
| Full Service Payroll | Direct deposit | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | "Free direct deposit" |
| Full Service Payroll | Year-end forms | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | "Year-end payroll tax filings at no additional fee"; "Electronic or printable W-2s" |
| Full Service Payroll | Multi-state filing | Add-on | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | $12 a month per additional state filing beyond the first |
| Full Service Payroll | Off-cycle runs | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | "Unlimited payrolls" |
| Full Service Payroll | Contractor payments | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | "Pay contractors in payroll"; the per-worker fee is charged "per worker paid" |
| Full Service Payroll | Multi-state payroll (add-on) | $12 a month for each state after the first | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | $12 a month per additional state filing beyond the first |
| Full Service Payroll | Conditions on the price | — | the pricing page | 2026-09-27 | Standard price; billed in arrears; $12/month per additional state filing beyond first state; promo "30 days free + 50% off for 3 months" (no end date shown) (promo: $18.50/mo + $2.50/worker) |
The same record, for every vendor, is the sources column of plans.csv on the data page.
Where to check this yourself
Go to Patriot Software and open its pricing page. Everything above comes from https://www.patriotsoftware.com/pricing/, read on 2026-09-27.
Related
- Patriot Software compared with OnPay
- Patriot Software compared with QuickBooks Payroll
- Patriot Software compared with Square Payroll
- Alternatives to Patriot Software
- Why payroll costs more than the advertised per-employee fee
- Put your own headcount against Patriot Software in the calculator
- What payroll software costs, and where the money goes
- Gusto vs Patriot Software: no headcount where Gusto is cheaper, $13 to $232 a month apart
- Payroll for one employee: $21 to $94.50 a month at list price across 12 US vendors, and the cheapest row does not file your taxes
- Year-end W-2 and 1099 fees by payroll vendor: included at OnPay, Patriot, QuickBooks and Wave, $3 a form at Square and Zoho, $50 plus $5 a form at SurePayroll ($100 for 10 forms)
- Multi-state payroll fees by vendor: Patriot $12 per extra state, SurePayroll $9.99 a month, Gusto Simple to Plus is +$91 at 10 employees, and who includes it
Written by Kaz, independent publisher.
Page last updated: 2026-10-03. Sources: vendor pricing pages only. Figures checked between 2026-08-20 and 2026-10-03. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.
Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.
Corrections: contact form.