Payroll + HR · United States

Gusto pricing: what it actually costs per employee at 5, 10, 25 and 50

At 10 employees, the cheapest plan Gusto publishes is Simple: $109 a month — $10.90 per employee per month, base fee included.

  • Price statusPublished list price
  • Prices read onchecked 2026-09-27
  • Last recorded changenone recorded since we started checking
See official pricing

No vendor we hold publishes a cheaper monthly total at this headcount.

On its cheapest published plan, Gusto costs $109 a month for 10 employees, which is $10.90 per employee per month.

At 5 employees the same plan works out at $15.80 per employee — the headline figure of $6 assumes the base fee is spread over more people.

What the vendor publishes

Source: Gusto pricing page. checked 2026-09-27
PlanBase / monthPer employee / monthEligibility as publishedWhat the vendor states
Contractor Only$35$6No headcount condition publishedStandard price; promo shown as "$35 $0/mo" limited time offer, terms apply
Simple$49$6No headcount condition publishedMonth-to-month, cancel anytime
Plus$80$12No headcount condition publishedLabeled "BEST VALUE"; month-to-month, cancel anytime
Premium$180$22No headcount condition publishedMonth-to-month, cancel anytime

Setup fee: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-27).

Free trial: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-27).

Minimum contract: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-27).

What that works out at per employee

Vendors quote a per-employee fee and a base fee separately. What you actually pay per employee is both of them divided by your headcount, so the smaller your team, the further the real figure sits above the advertised one. This table is Gusto's published prices put through that division.

Effective cost per employee per month, by headcount. Computed from the published base fee and per-employee fee — not a figure the vendor publishes. “n/a” means the plan is not available at that headcount. Contractor-only plans are excluded — they do not run employee payroll. checked 2026-09-27
Plan15102550100250
Simple$55.00$15.80$10.90$7.96$6.98$6.49$6.20
Plus$92.00$28.00$20.00$15.20$13.60$12.80$12.32
Premium$202.00$58.00$40.00$29.20$25.60$23.80$22.72

Columns are employee counts. Scroll sideways on a phone.

monthly total = base fee + (per-employee fee x headcount) effective PEPM = monthly total / headcount annual total = monthly total x 12 + setup fee three-year cost = annual total x 3

No other adjustment is applied. We do not add estimated tax-filing fees, discounts, or promotional pricing. The full method is at Method.

Where the base fee stops mattering

On Simple, the $49 base fee is 62% of the monthly bill at 5 employees and 14% at 50. That is the whole of why the effective figure falls as a team grows: the fee does not change, the number of people carrying it does.

Who this suits, and who it does not

Where each figure comes from

Every figure above is either a number Gusto publishes or a gap it leaves. Field by field: what we hold, which of the vendor's own pages it was read from, the day it was read, and the vendor's wording where we have it. Nothing in this table comes from a third party, and no blank is filled with an estimate.

Show the source of every figure on this page (30 fields)
Default source: https://gusto.com/pricing. checked 2026-09-27
PlanFieldWhat we holdRead fromRead onThe vendor's wording
—Setup feeNot stated in the vendor's published documentationthe pricing page2026-09-27
—Minimum contract0 monthsthe pricing page2026-09-27
—Free trialNot stated in the vendor's published documentationthe pricing page2026-09-27
Contractor OnlyMonthly base fee$35the pricing page2026-09-27
Contractor OnlyPer-employee fee$6the pricing page2026-09-27
Contractor OnlyConditions on the price—the pricing page2026-09-27Standard price; promo shown as "$35 $0/mo" limited time offer, terms apply
SimpleMonthly base fee$49the pricing page2026-09-27
SimplePer-employee fee$6the pricing page2026-09-27
SimpleTax filingIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Tax filings and payments" — Applicable on all three plans
SimpleDirect depositIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Direct deposits or printable checks" — Applicable
SimpleMulti-state filingNot includedthe pricing page2026-09-27The plan is described as "single-state payroll"; "Multi-state payroll" is a Plus feature
SimpleOff-cycle runsIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Unlimited payrolls per month" — Applicable
SimpleContractor paymentsIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Domestic contractor payments" — Applicable
SimpleConditions on the price—the pricing page2026-09-27Month-to-month, cancel anytime
PlusMonthly base fee$80the pricing page2026-09-27
PlusPer-employee fee$12the pricing page2026-09-27
PlusTax filingIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Tax filings and payments" — Applicable
PlusDirect depositIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Direct deposits or printable checks" — Applicable
PlusMulti-state filingIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Multi-state payroll" is listed under this plan
PlusOff-cycle runsIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Unlimited payrolls per month" — Applicable
PlusContractor paymentsIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Domestic contractor payments" — Applicable
PlusConditions on the price—the pricing page2026-09-27Labeled "BEST VALUE"; month-to-month, cancel anytime
PremiumMonthly base fee$180the pricing page2026-09-27
PremiumPer-employee fee$22the pricing page2026-09-27
PremiumTax filingIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Tax filings and payments" — Applicable
PremiumDirect depositIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Direct deposits or printable checks" — Applicable
PremiumMulti-state filingIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Multi-state payroll" is included from Plus upward
PremiumOff-cycle runsIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Unlimited payrolls per month" — Applicable
PremiumContractor paymentsIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-27"Domestic contractor payments" — Applicable
PremiumConditions on the price—the pricing page2026-09-27Month-to-month, cancel anytime

The same record, for every vendor, is the sources column of plans.csv on the data page.

Where to check this yourself

Go to Gusto and open its pricing page. Everything above comes from https://gusto.com/pricing, read on 2026-09-27.

Related

Written by Kaz, independent publisher.

Page last updated: 2026-10-03. Sources: vendor pricing pages only. Figures checked between 2026-08-20 and 2026-10-03. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.

Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.

Corrections: contact form.