Payroll + HR · United States

Homebase pricing: what it actually costs per employee at 5, 10, 25 and 50

At 10 employees, the cheapest plan Homebase publishes is Basic + Payroll: $109 a month — $10.90 per employee per month, base fee included.

  • Price statusPublished list price
  • Prices read onchecked 2026-09-27
  • Last recorded change2026-09-27 · what changed
See official pricing

No vendor we hold publishes a cheaper monthly total at this headcount.

On its cheapest published plan, Homebase costs $109 a month for 10 employees, which is $10.90 per employee per month.

At 5 employees the same plan works out at $15.80 per employee — the headline figure of $6 assumes the base fee is spread over more people.

What the vendor publishes

Source: Homebase pricing page. checked 2026-09-27
PlanBase / monthPer employee / monthEligibility as publishedWhat the vendor states
Payroll add-on (on top of any plan)$49$6Only on top of a Basic or Essentials or Plus or All-in-One plan"Then $49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid". Quoted on Homebase's pricing page as an add-on; the plan fee below is charged as well. Promo "6 Months Free: Payroll & Plus Plan" (standard price recorded, promo excluded; checked 2026-10-03).
Basic$0—Up to 10 employees. Charged per locationNot a payroll price on its own. Payroll is a paid add-on to any Homebase plan, published as "$49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid". The base tiers below are the time-and-scheduling product, not payroll. Up to 1 location, 10 employees max. Payroll add-on available: "$49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid"
Essentials$30—Charged per locationThe vendor does not state an upper headcount for this flat fee, so it cannot be reduced to a monthly figure. Per location, unlimited employees; $24/month if billed annually ("Save $72/year"). Payroll add-on: "$49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid"
Plus$70—Charged per locationThe vendor does not state an upper headcount for this flat fee, so it cannot be reduced to a monthly figure. Per location, unlimited employees; $56/month if billed annually ("Save $168/year"). Payroll add-on: "$49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid"
All-in-One$120—Charged per locationThe vendor does not state an upper headcount for this flat fee, so it cannot be reduced to a monthly figure. Per location, unlimited employees; $96/month if billed annually ("Save $288/year"). Payroll add-on: "$49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid". Free 14-day trial of All-in-One, no credit card required

Setup fee: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-27).

Minimum contract: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-27).

What has to be bought together

Homebase does not sell payroll on its own, so a payroll price only exists in combination with one of its plans. The combinations below are what we rank and calculate with; the add-on on its own is not a price anyone can pay.

Combined from the vendor's own published plan and add-on prices. checked 2026-09-27
CombinationBase / monthPer employee / monthEligibility as published
Basic + Payroll$49$6Up to 10 employees. Charged per location. Combined figure: Basic at $0/month per location and Payroll add-on (on top of any plan) at $49/month plus $6 per person. The vendor sells the payroll product only as an add-on, so the plan fee is charged as well. One location assumed. This combination is only available up to 10 employees.
Essentials + Payroll$79$6Charged per location. Combined figure: Essentials at $30/month per location and Payroll add-on (on top of any plan) at $49/month plus $6 per person. The vendor sells the payroll product only as an add-on, so the plan fee is charged as well. One location assumed.
Plus + Payroll$119$6Charged per location. Combined figure: Plus at $70/month per location and Payroll add-on (on top of any plan) at $49/month plus $6 per person. The vendor sells the payroll product only as an add-on, so the plan fee is charged as well. One location assumed.
All-in-One + Payroll$169$6Charged per location. Combined figure: All-in-One at $120/month per location and Payroll add-on (on top of any plan) at $49/month plus $6 per person. The vendor sells the payroll product only as an add-on, so the plan fee is charged as well. One location assumed.

What that works out at per employee

Vendors quote a per-employee fee and a base fee separately. What you actually pay per employee is both of them divided by your headcount, so the smaller your team, the further the real figure sits above the advertised one. This table is Homebase's published prices put through that division.

Effective cost per employee per month, by headcount. Computed from the published base fee and per-employee fee — not a figure the vendor publishes. “n/a” means the plan is not available at that headcount. Contractor-only plans are excluded — they do not run employee payroll. checked 2026-09-27
Plan15102550100250
Basic + Payroll$55.00$15.80$10.90n/an/an/an/a
Essentials + Payroll$85.00$21.80$13.90$9.16$7.58$6.79$6.32
Plus + Payroll$125.00$29.80$17.90$10.76$8.38$7.19$6.48
All-in-One + Payroll$175.00$39.80$22.90$12.76$9.38$7.69$6.68

Columns are employee counts. Scroll sideways on a phone.

monthly total = base fee + (per-employee fee x headcount) effective PEPM = monthly total / headcount annual total = monthly total x 12 + setup fee three-year cost = annual total x 3

No other adjustment is applied. We do not add estimated tax-filing fees, discounts, or promotional pricing. The full method is at Method.

Where the base fee stops mattering

Against Gusto — the cheapest published alternative at 10 employees — the ordering turns over at 11 employees: below that Homebase has the lower monthly total, from there Gusto does. That is arithmetic on two published prices, not a recommendation; the comparison shows both at every headcount.

Who this suits, and who it does not

Price history

Changes we have observed on the vendor's own pricing page. We do not reconstruct history from before we started checking.
DatePlanWhat changedWasNow
2026-09-27Payroll add-on (on top of any plan)Monthly base fee price change on the vendor's page — The pricing page now shows "Then $49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid". Our 2026-09-07 reading recorded "$39/month + $6/month per employee paid". The per-employee fee is unchanged.$39$49

The same entries, next to every other vendor's, are on the price history (RSS).

Where each figure comes from

Every figure above is either a number Homebase publishes or a gap it leaves. Field by field: what we hold, which of the vendor's own pages it was read from, the day it was read, and the vendor's wording where we have it. Nothing in this table comes from a third party, and no blank is filled with an estimate.

Show the source of every figure on this page (28 fields)
Default source: https://www.joinhomebase.com/pricing. checked 2026-09-27
PlanFieldWhat we holdRead fromRead onThe vendor's wording
—Setup feeNot stated in the vendor's published documentationthe pricing page2026-09-27
—Minimum contractNot stated in the vendor's published documentationthe pricing page2026-09-27
—Free trial14 daysthe pricing page2026-09-27
Payroll add-on (on top of any plan)Monthly base fee$49the pricing page2026-09-27
Payroll add-on (on top of any plan)Per-employee fee$6the pricing page2026-09-27
Payroll add-on (on top of any plan)EligibilityOnly on top of a Basic or Essentials or Plus or All-in-One planthe pricing page2026-09-27
Payroll add-on (on top of any plan)Tax calculationIncludedjoinhomebase.com/payroll2026-09-27"Automated tax calculation, filing, and payment"
Payroll add-on (on top of any plan)Tax filingIncludedjoinhomebase.com/payroll2026-09-27"1099s, W-2s, tax filings, amendments included."
Payroll add-on (on top of any plan)Direct depositIncludedjoinhomebase.com/payroll2026-09-27"Direct deposit & printable checks"
Payroll add-on (on top of any plan)Year-end formsIncludedjoinhomebase.com/payroll2026-09-27"1099s, W-2s, tax filings, amendments included."
Payroll add-on (on top of any plan)Off-cycle runsIncludedjoinhomebase.com/payroll2026-09-27"Includes unlimited payroll runs."
Payroll add-on (on top of any plan)Conditions on the price—the pricing page2026-09-27"Then $49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid". Quoted on Homebase's pricing page as an add-on; the plan fee below is charged as well. Promo "6 Months Free: Payroll & Plus Plan" (standard price recorded, promo excluded; checked 2026-10-03).
BasicMonthly base fee$0the pricing page2026-09-27
BasicPer-employee feeNot published on the vendor's pagethe pricing page2026-09-27
BasicEligibilityUp to 10 employees. Charged per locationthe pricing page2026-09-27
BasicConditions on the price—the pricing page2026-09-27Payroll is a paid add-on to any Homebase plan, published as "$49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid". The base tiers below are the time-and-scheduling product, not payroll. Up to 1 location, 10 employees max. Payroll add-on available: "$49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid"
EssentialsMonthly base fee$30the pricing page2026-09-27
EssentialsPer-employee feeNot published on the vendor's pagethe pricing page2026-09-27
EssentialsEligibilityCharged per locationthe pricing page2026-09-27
EssentialsConditions on the price—the pricing page2026-09-27Per location, unlimited employees; $24/month if billed annually ("Save $72/year"). Payroll add-on: "$49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid"
PlusMonthly base fee$70the pricing page2026-09-27
PlusPer-employee feeNot published on the vendor's pagethe pricing page2026-09-27
PlusEligibilityCharged per locationthe pricing page2026-09-27
PlusConditions on the price—the pricing page2026-09-27Per location, unlimited employees; $56/month if billed annually ("Save $168/year"). Payroll add-on: "$49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid"
All-in-OneMonthly base fee$120the pricing page2026-09-27
All-in-OnePer-employee feeNot published on the vendor's pagethe pricing page2026-09-27
All-in-OneEligibilityCharged per locationthe pricing page2026-09-27
All-in-OneConditions on the price—the pricing page2026-09-27Per location, unlimited employees; $96/month if billed annually ("Save $288/year"). Payroll add-on: "$49/mo base fee + $6/month per employee paid". Free 14-day trial of All-in-One, no credit card required

The same record, for every vendor, is the sources column of plans.csv on the data page.

Where to check this yourself

Go to Homebase and open its pricing page. Everything above comes from https://www.joinhomebase.com/pricing, read on 2026-09-27.

Related

Written by Kaz, independent publisher.

Page last updated: 2026-10-03. Sources: vendor pricing pages only. Figures checked between 2026-08-20 and 2026-10-03. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.

Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.

Corrections: contact form.