Payroll · United States

Square Payroll pricing: what it actually costs per employee at 5, 10, 25 and 50

At 10 employees, the cheapest plan Square Payroll publishes is Full-Service Payroll: $95 a month — $9.50 per employee per month, base fee included.

  • Price statusPublished list price
  • Prices read onchecked 2026-09-06
  • Last recorded change2026-09-06 · what changed
See official pricing

Cheaper at this headcount: Patriot Software at $57 a month on its Basic Payroll plan.

On its cheapest published plan, Square Payroll costs $95 a month for 10 employees, which is $9.50 per employee per month.

At 5 employees the same plan works out at $13.00 per employee — the headline figure of $6 assumes the base fee is spread over more people.

What the vendor publishes

Source: Square Payroll pricing page. checked 2026-09-06
PlanBase / monthPer employee / monthEligibility as publishedWhat the vendor states
Full-Service Payroll$35$6No headcount condition publishedNo commitment, no long-term contracts required; optional paper W-2/1099 mailing $3/form/year
Contractor Only Payroll$0$6No headcount condition published$6/month per person paid; no commitment, no long-term contracts required

Setup fee: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-06).

Free trial: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-06).

Minimum contract: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-06).

Add-on fees the vendor publishes

These are the extra charges Square Payroll states on the same pricing page, for things the headline price does not cover. They are the only add-on figures we hold for Square Payroll: anything else it charges is not published, and we do not estimate it. The calculator can add them for your headcount under its advanced options.

As stated on the vendor's pricing page. checked 2026-09-06
PlanItemFeeChargedThe vendor's wording
Full-Service PayrollYear-end forms$3a year for each form"Digital delivery of W2s/1099s" — Included; mailing paper copies is an annual fee of $3 per form
Contractor Only PayrollYear-end forms$3a year for each form"Digital delivery of W2s/1099s" — Included; paper copies $3 per mailed form

What that works out at per employee

Vendors quote a per-employee fee and a base fee separately. What you actually pay per employee is both of them divided by your headcount, so the smaller your team, the further the real figure sits above the advertised one. This table is Square Payroll's published prices put through that division.

Effective cost per employee per month, by headcount. Computed from the published base fee and per-employee fee — not a figure the vendor publishes. “n/a” means the plan is not available at that headcount. Contractor-only plans are excluded — they do not run employee payroll. checked 2026-09-06
Plan15102550100250
Full-Service Payroll$41.00$13.00$9.50$7.40$6.70$6.35$6.14

Columns are employee counts. Scroll sideways on a phone.

monthly total = base fee + (per-employee fee x headcount) effective PEPM = monthly total / headcount annual total = monthly total x 12 + setup fee three-year cost = annual total x 3

No other adjustment is applied. We do not add estimated tax-filing fees, discounts, or promotional pricing. The full method is at Method.

Where the base fee stops mattering

On Full-Service Payroll, the $35 base fee is 54% of the monthly bill at 5 employees and 10% at 50. That is the whole of why the effective figure falls as a team grows: the fee does not change, the number of people carrying it does.

Who this suits, and who it does not

Price history

Changes we have observed on the vendor's own pricing page. We do not reconstruct history from before we started checking.
DatePlanWhat changedWasNow
2026-09-06Full-Service PayrollYear-end forms, in the plan correction to our data — Re-read on the vendor pricing pagea paid add-onincluded in the plan

The same entries, next to every other vendor's, are on the price history (RSS).

Where each figure comes from

Every figure above is either a number Square Payroll publishes or a gap it leaves. Field by field: what we hold, which of the vendor's own pages it was read from, the day it was read, and the vendor's wording where we have it. Nothing in this table comes from a third party, and no blank is filled with an estimate.

Show the source of every figure on this page (24 fields)
Default source: https://squareup.com/us/en/payroll/pricing. checked 2026-09-06
PlanFieldWhat we holdRead fromRead onThe vendor's wording
—Setup feeNot stated in the vendor's published documentationthe pricing page2026-09-06
—Minimum contractNot stated in the vendor's published documentationthe pricing page2026-09-06
—Free trialNot stated in the vendor's published documentationthe pricing page2026-09-06
Full-Service PayrollMonthly base fee$35the pricing page2026-09-06
Full-Service PayrollPer-employee fee$6the pricing page2026-09-06
Full-Service PayrollTax calculationIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Automatic payroll tax calculations — Included"
Full-Service PayrollTax filingIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Automated federal tax payments and filings" and "Automated state tax payments and filings" — Included
Full-Service PayrollDirect depositIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Pay by check, direct deposit, or Cash App" — Included
Full-Service PayrollYear-end formsIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Digital delivery of W2s/1099s" — Included; mailing paper copies is an annual fee of $3 per form
Full-Service PayrollMulti-state filingIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Multistate payroll" — Included
Full-Service PayrollOff-cycle runsIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Off-cycle payments" — Included
Full-Service PayrollYear-end forms (add-on)$3 a year for each formthe pricing page2026-09-06"Digital delivery of W2s/1099s" — Included; mailing paper copies is an annual fee of $3 per form
Full-Service PayrollConditions on the price—the pricing page2026-09-06No commitment, no long-term contracts required; optional paper W-2/1099 mailing $3/form/year
Contractor Only PayrollMonthly base fee$0the pricing page2026-09-06
Contractor Only PayrollPer-employee fee$6the pricing page2026-09-06
Contractor Only PayrollTax calculationIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Automatic payroll tax calculations" — Included on both plans
Contractor Only PayrollTax filingNot includedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Automated federal tax payments and filings" and "Automated state tax payments and filings" — Not included on this plan
Contractor Only PayrollDirect depositIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Pay by check, direct deposit, or Cash App" — Included
Contractor Only PayrollYear-end formsIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Digital delivery of W2s/1099s" — Included; paper copies $3 per mailed form
Contractor Only PayrollMulti-state filingNot includedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Multistate payroll" — Not included on this plan
Contractor Only PayrollOff-cycle runsNot includedthe pricing page2026-09-06"Off-cycle payments" — Not included on this plan
Contractor Only PayrollContractor paymentsIncludedthe pricing page2026-09-06The plan is the contractor product: "$6/mo per person paid"
Contractor Only PayrollYear-end forms (add-on)$3 a year for each formthe pricing page2026-09-06"Digital delivery of W2s/1099s" — Included; paper copies $3 per mailed form
Contractor Only PayrollConditions on the price—the pricing page2026-09-06$6/month per person paid; no commitment, no long-term contracts required

The same record, for every vendor, is the sources column of plans.csv on the data page.

Where to check this yourself

Go to Square Payroll and open its pricing page. Everything above comes from https://squareup.com/us/en/payroll/pricing, read on 2026-09-06.

Related

Written by Kaz, independent publisher.

Page last updated: 2026-10-03. Sources: vendor pricing pages only. Figures checked between 2026-08-20 and 2026-10-03. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.

Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.

Corrections: contact form.