Payroll · United States

OnPay pricing: what it actually costs per employee at 5, 10, 25 and 50

At 10 employees, the cheapest plan OnPay publishes is Payroll Essentials: $109 a month — $10.90 per employee per month, base fee included.

  • Price statusPublished list price
  • Prices read onchecked 2026-10-03
  • Last recorded change2026-09-06 · what changed
See official pricing

Cheaper at this headcount: Patriot Software at $57 a month on its Basic Payroll plan.

On its cheapest published plan, OnPay costs $109 a month for 10 employees, which is $10.90 per employee per month.

At 5 employees the same plan works out at $15.80 per employee — the headline figure of $6 assumes the base fee is spread over more people.

What the vendor publishes

Source: OnPay pricing page. checked 2026-10-03
PlanBase / monthPer employee / monthEligibility as publishedWhat the vendor states
Payroll Essentials$49$6No headcount condition publishedVendor names the base plan "Payroll Essentials"; no implementation or integration fees; unlimited pay runs. HR add-on is +$15 base and $2/worker. Three bundles on 2026-10-03: Payroll + Time Tracking + HR, regular struck-through $79 + $12/worker, discounted $70 + $10; Payroll + HR + Compliance Resources + Live HR Support, regular $149 + $8, discounted $120 + $7; Payroll + Time Tracking + HR + Compliance Resources + Live HR Support, regular $164 + $12, discounted $130 + $10. Bundle discounts are excluded from the ranking.

Billing: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-10-03).

Free trial: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-10-03).

Minimum contract: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-10-03).

The vendor states there is no setup fee.

What that works out at per employee

Vendors quote a per-employee fee and a base fee separately. What you actually pay per employee is both of them divided by your headcount, so the smaller your team, the further the real figure sits above the advertised one. This table is OnPay's published prices put through that division.

Effective cost per employee per month, by headcount. Computed from the published base fee and per-employee fee — not a figure the vendor publishes. “n/a” means the plan is not available at that headcount. Contractor-only plans are excluded — they do not run employee payroll. checked 2026-10-03
Plan15102550100250
Payroll Essentials$55.00$15.80$10.90$7.96$6.98$6.49$6.20

Columns are employee counts. Scroll sideways on a phone.

monthly total = base fee + (per-employee fee x headcount) effective PEPM = monthly total / headcount annual total = monthly total x 12 + setup fee three-year cost = annual total x 3

No other adjustment is applied. We do not add estimated tax-filing fees, discounts, or promotional pricing. The full method is at Method.

Where the base fee stops mattering

On Payroll Essentials, the $49 base fee is 62% of the monthly bill at 5 employees and 14% at 50. That is the whole of why the effective figure falls as a team grows: the fee does not change, the number of people carrying it does.

Who this suits, and who it does not

Price history

Changes we have observed on the vendor's own pricing page. We do not reconstruct history from before we started checking.
DatePlanWhat changedWasNow
2026-09-06—Pricing page address correction to our data — The vendor moved its pricing pagehttps://onpay.com/pricinghttps://onpay.com/payroll/software/costs-pricing/
2026-09-06Payroll EssentialsPlan name plan renamed by the vendor — Vendor renamed the planOnPay PayrollPayroll Essentials

The same entries, next to every other vendor's, are on the price history (RSS).

Where each figure comes from

Every figure above is either a number OnPay publishes or a gap it leaves. Field by field: what we hold, which of the vendor's own pages it was read from, the day it was read, and the vendor's wording where we have it. Nothing in this table comes from a third party, and no blank is filled with an estimate.

Show the source of every figure on this page (12 fields)
Default source: https://onpay.com/payroll/software/costs-pricing/. checked 2026-10-03
PlanFieldWhat we holdRead fromRead onThe vendor's wording
—Setup fee$0the pricing page2026-10-03
—Minimum contractNot stated in the vendor's published documentationthe pricing page2026-10-03
—Free trialNot stated in the vendor's published documentationthe pricing page2026-10-03
Payroll EssentialsMonthly base fee$49the pricing page2026-10-03
Payroll EssentialsPer-employee fee$6the pricing page2026-10-03
Payroll EssentialsTax calculationIncludedthe pricing page2026-10-03"Full-service payroll" is the first line of the base plan
Payroll EssentialsTax filingIncludedthe pricing page2026-10-03"Federal, state, and local tax filings included"
Payroll EssentialsYear-end formsIncludedthe pricing page2026-10-03"W-2s, 1099s, and year-end filings included"
Payroll EssentialsMulti-state filingIncludedthe pricing page2026-10-03"Pay workers in as many states as you need"
Payroll EssentialsOff-cycle runsIncludedthe pricing page2026-10-03"Unlimited pay runs and schedules"
Payroll EssentialsContractor paymentsIncludedthe pricing page2026-10-03The fee is "$6/worker" and "W-2s, 1099s, and year-end filings" are included
Payroll EssentialsConditions on the price—the pricing page2026-10-03Vendor names the base plan "Payroll Essentials"; no implementation or integration fees; unlimited pay runs. HR add-on is +$15 base and $2/worker. Three bundles on 2026-10-03: Payroll + Time Tracking + HR, regular struck-through $79 + $12/worker, discounted $70 + $10; Payroll + HR + Compliance Resources + Live HR Support, regular $149 + $8, discounted $120 + $7; Payroll + Time Tracking + HR + Compliance Resources + Live HR Support, regular $164 + $12, discounted $130 + $10. Bundle discounts are excluded from the ranking.

The same record, for every vendor, is the sources column of plans.csv on the data page.

Where to check this yourself

Go to OnPay and open its pricing page. Everything above comes from https://onpay.com/payroll/software/costs-pricing/, read on 2026-10-03.

Related

Written by Kaz, independent publisher.

Page last updated: 2026-10-03. Sources: vendor pricing pages only. Figures checked between 2026-08-20 and 2026-10-03. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.

Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.

Corrections: contact form.