Quote-only payroll vendors (ADP RUN, Paychex, Paylocity, Rippling, TriNet): the seven line items to ask for, with published prices at 25 employees ($117 to $250.50) as the yardstick

Last updated: 2026-10-03

Short version

What the five pages carry instead of a number

VendorPage readWhat it says in place of a priceChecked
ADP RUNadp.com, payroll-packagesFour packages: Essential Payroll, Enhanced Payroll (Most Popular), Complete Payroll & HR Plus, HR Pro Payroll & HR. "Get pricing" on each. Promotion "Get 3 months FREE payroll"2026-08-20; no figure re-confirmed 2026-10-03
Paychexpaychex.com/payrollPaychex Flex Select, Pro, Enterprise. "Get Your Free Quote," "Request Pricing," "Contact Sales"2026-08-20; re-confirmed 2026-10-03
Paylocitypaylocity.com/pricing"Get the solution that matches your needs and is priced for your budget." Modular HR, finance and IT. A "Get Pricing" form and "Request a Demo"; on 2026-10-03, "Request Pricing"2026-08-20; re-confirmed 2026-10-03
Ripplingrippling.com/pricing"Tell us what services you need, and we'll send you a custom quote." Carried "starts at $8 a month, per user" until 2026-09-06, withdrawn that day2026-09-06; re-confirmed 2026-10-03
TriNettrinet.com/solutions/peo (a PEO)"Pricing depends on factors including your company size... request your tailored quote." A PEPM administrative fee, with benefits, workers' comp, payroll taxes and add-ons billed separately. The FAQ's worked example: 20 employees at a $150 PEPM rate is a $3,000 monthly administrative fee. A minimum worksite employee count applies2026-08-20; re-confirmed 2026-10-03

Paycor was recorded as quote-only in this site's dataset on 2026-08-20, when no figure appeared on paycor.com/pricing. On 2026-10-03, a separate page, paycor.com/plans-pricing/small-business/, showed four published plans for businesses with fewer than 50 employees: Basic $99 + $5, Essential $149 + $6, Complete $199 + $7, HCM $199 + $12, with a "50% OFF for 6 months" promotion. The dataset now includes those plans. Paycor's larger-company tiers remain quote-only, and the seven items below apply to those.

The five zeros sit on the bottom row of the transparency count. That not publishing does not mean expensive is already covered in article-03 and is not repeated here. What this page does is list the items that let a quote be received in a form that fits the published table.

Request an ADP RUN quote

Request a Paychex quote

Request a Rippling quote

Links on this page currently go directly to vendors without affiliate tracking.

The seven line items, and how the publishing vendors print each one

#Line itemHow the published pages print it (ask for the quote in this shape)
1Monthly base fee: the amount that does not move with headcountPatriot Basic $17, SurePayroll $29, Square $35, Patriot Full Service $37, Roll by ADP $39, Zoho Standard $39, Wave $40, Gusto Simple, OnPay and Homebase $49, Justworks Payroll $50, QuickBooks $88, Paycor Basic $99 (2026-10-03)
2Per-employee monthly rate, and what counts as one (employees, people paid, active employees)Patriot Basic $4; Roll and Patriot Full Service $5; Gusto Simple, OnPay, Square, Wave and Zoho Standard $6; QuickBooks $6.50; SurePayroll $7; Justworks Payroll $8. Square counts "per person paid," Wave "per active employee"
3Setup fee, written as zero if it is zeroWave: "No set-up fees or hidden charges." OnPay: "No implementation or integration fees." Gusto, Patriot, QuickBooks, Square and SurePayroll do not state one. Only 16 of the 35 vendors in the dataset publish this item
4Contract minimum and cancellation termsGusto, all three tiers: "month-to-month, cancel anytime." Roll: "no long-term contracts." Square: "No commitment, no long-term contracts required." Wave: "30 days commitment-free after processing first payroll." Patriot bills in arrears
5Multi-state: included, priced per state, or a step up to a higher tierPatriot Full Service $12 a month per additional state; SurePayroll $9.99 a month flat; Gusto not in Simple, in Plus ($80 + $12); Zoho not in Standard, in Professional ($59 + $8.50). Included at OnPay, Square, Roll and Justworks Payroll. Not stated at QuickBooks, Wave, Homebase
6Year-end forms (W-2, 1099): included, or per formSurePayroll $50 plus $5 per form a year; Square digital delivery included, paper mailing $3 per form; Zoho W-2 postal delivery $3 per employee. Included at Patriot, OnPay, QuickBooks, Wave, Homebase. Not stated at Gusto and Roll
7Implementation: setup work, data migration, integrations, trainingOnPay: "No implementation or integration fees." Roll: "No Hidden Fees, No Surprises, No Training." The other publishing vendors have no such line on their pricing pages, and neither do the five quote-only vendors

Items 3 and 7 are kept apart because the publishing vendors keep them apart. Wave's "set-up fees" and OnPay's "implementation or integration fees" are different words, and the question for a quote is whether it has one line or two.

There is an eighth thing that is a date rather than a line item. ADP RUN's "3 months FREE" and Paycor's "50% OFF for 6 months" end, and the price afterwards is the list price; that is the figure to have written into the quote. For the publishing vendors, article-13 does the year-one arithmetic on the same basis.

The 25-employee yardstick: what the publishing vendors charge

The publishing vendors' lowest tiers, at 25 employees, base plus per-employee times 25, list price, no promotion. A quote for 25 employees placed here shows where it falls.

Vendor and planBase + per employee25 employees per monthPer employeeChecked
Patriot Software Basic$17 + $4$117$4.682026-10-03 (tax filing not included; you file)
Patriot Software Full Service$37 + $5$162$6.482026-10-03
Roll by ADP$39 + $5$164$6.562026-10-03
Square Payroll Full-Service$35 + $6$185$7.402026-10-03
Zoho Payroll Standard$39 + $6$189$7.562026-10-03 ($29 + $5 billed annually)
Wave Payroll$40 + $6$190$7.602026-10-03
Gusto Simple$49 + $6$199$7.962026-09-27 (page could not be re-read 2026-10-03)
OnPay Payroll Essentials$49 + $6$199$7.962026-10-03
Homebase payroll add-on$49 + $6 + plan fee$199 + plan fee (Basic caps at 10 employees; Essentials $30 makes it $229)$7.96 + plan2026-10-03
SurePayroll Small Business$29 + $7$204$8.162026-10-03
Paycor Basic$99 + $5$224$8.962026-10-03 (small-business page)
Justworks Payroll$50 + $8$250$10.002026-09-06 (page could not be re-read 2026-10-03)
QuickBooks Workforce Payroll + Simple Start$88 + $6.50$250.50$10.022026-10-03 (includes QuickBooks Online accounting)

Deel US Payroll at $29 per employee ($725 at 25) was read on 2026-09-27 on the Pay / US tab and was not visible on the pricing page on 2026-10-03, so it is left out. The higher tiers stack on top of this table: at 25 employees, Zoho Professional $271.50, QuickBooks + Essentials $287.50, Gusto Plus $380, QuickBooks Premium + Plus $453, Gusto Premium $730. For another headcount, the calculator page applies the same formula.

What falls outside the table at 25 employees

Items 5 and 6 come to the following at 25 employees. These are the figures to lay against the same lines of a quote.

What to do when the quote arrives

Copy the seven items into the same columns as the two tables above. From the base and per-employee figures, work out the monthly total at 25 (or your headcount) and place it between the nearest rows of the yardstick. Convert multi-state and year-end forms to annual amounts and set them beside the figures in the previous section. Setup and implementation are one-time, so they go on a separate line rather than into the monthly total. Getting the total in writing and asking what the price is after the promotion are already covered in article-03.

The Gusto-side comparisons with ADP RUN, Paychex and Rippling are article-49, article-50 and article-51; Paychex and ADP RUN directly against each other is article-57. What a company with hundreds of employees compares before price is article-21.

What this page leaves out

The seven items fill a price table; they do not choose a product. Features, supported pay types, support hours and integrations are not among them. This site does not know what any of the five would quote and holds no past quotes. Every figure is a US-dollar list price, and we have used none of these products.

Sources

Related on this site

Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from vendors' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products.

Written by Kaz, independent publisher. No commercial relationship with the companies named unless it is listed on the disclosure page.

Published September 27, 2026. The figures above come from the government and vendor pages listed under Sources.

I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.

Corrections: contact form.