Paychex vs ADP RUN pricing: neither publishes a dollar figure; their published siblings, SurePayroll at $29 + $7 and Roll by ADP at $39 + $5, cost the same $64 at 5 employees

Last updated: 2026-10-03

Short version

What differs when the two pages sit side by side

Item readPaychex FlexADP RUN
Page readpaychex.com/payrolladp.com, payroll-for-1-49-employees / payroll-packages
Package namesThree: Select, Pro, EnterpriseFour: Essential Payroll, Enhanced Payroll ("Most Popular"), Complete Payroll & HR Plus, HR Pro Payroll & HR
Dollar figuresNoneNone
Button wording"Get Your Free Quote," "Request Pricing," "Contact Sales""Get pricing" on every package
PromotionNone shown"Get 3 months FREE payroll" (the price after the free months is not published)
Base fee, per-employee fee, setup fee, trial, contract minimumAll not statedAll not stated
Published items (of 6)00
Dates2026-08-20; no figure re-confirmed 2026-10-032026-08-20; no figure re-confirmed 2026-10-03

Only three rows have anything in them: the number of packages (three against four), the words on the buttons, and whether a promotion is shown. None of the three is a price. ADP's three free months cannot even be sized, because the page does not say what month four costs. Both companies sit on the bottom row of the transparency index, and the site's pages for Paychex and ADP RUN mark every price field "not stated" with the date it was checked.

Request a Paychex quote

Request an ADP RUN quote

Links on this page currently go directly to vendors without affiliate tracking.

Where the published siblings, SurePayroll and Roll by ADP, part ways

Paychex owns SurePayroll, and ADP sells Roll by ADP as its small-business app. Both publish a price, which makes them the one pairing from these two groups that can be computed with the same formula. SurePayroll Small Business is $29 + $7; Roll by ADP is $39 + $5 (both checked 2026-10-03). SurePayroll's base is $10 lower, Roll's per-employee rate is $2 lower.

EmployeesSurePayroll $29 + $7Roll by ADP $39 + $5Difference per month
1$36$44SurePayroll $8 lower
5$64$64Equal
10$99$89Roll $10 lower
25$204$164Roll $40 lower
50$379$289Roll $90 lower
100$729$539Roll $190 lower

List prices, base plus per-employee times headcount. Per employee that is $9.90 against $8.90 at 10 and $8.16 against $6.56 at 25. Outside the table: SurePayroll bills multi-state payroll at $9.99 a month and year-end forms at $50 plus $5 per form a year; Roll includes multi-state and does not say how year-end forms are handled. Promotions, kept out of the table: SurePayroll's alternating free months (terms apply) and Roll's three months free (terms apply). The Roll by ADP vs SurePayroll page compares only these two.

See SurePayroll pricing

See Roll by ADP pricing

What to hold a quote against

When a Paychex Flex or ADP RUN quote arrives, place it between the published prices at the same headcount. At 10 and 25 employees, the lowest tiers of the publishing vendors fall in this band.

EmployeesLowest publishedThe siblingsGusto SimpleHighest published (lowest tiers)
10Patriot Basic $57 (you file the taxes)Roll $89, SurePayroll $99$109QuickBooks + Simple Start $153
25Patriot Basic $117 (same)Roll $164, SurePayroll $204$199QuickBooks + Simple Start $250.50

Among plans that file the taxes, the lowest is Patriot Full Service at $87 for 10 and $162 for 25. The headcount calculator gives your own headcount. The line items to ask both companies for, so a quote can be placed in the band at all, are the seven in article-55. The Gusto-side comparisons are article-49 (ADP RUN) and article-50 (Paychex).

What this page does not say

What Paychex Flex and ADP RUN actually cost, what each package includes, or which product is better. This site holds no quotes and has used neither product. The SurePayroll and Roll table is list prices, US dollars, US payroll.

Sources

Related on this site

Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from vendors' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products.

Written by Kaz, independent publisher. No commercial relationship with the companies named unless it is listed on the disclosure page.

Published September 27, 2026. The figures above come from the government and vendor pages listed under Sources.

I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.

Corrections: contact form.