Payroll · United States
SurePayroll pricing: what it actually costs per employee at 5, 10, 25 and 50
At 10 employees, the cheapest plan SurePayroll publishes is Small Business Payroll: $99 a month — $9.90 per employee per month, base fee included.
- Price statusPublished list price
- Prices read onchecked 2026-09-06
- Last recorded change2026-09-06 · what changed
Cheaper at this headcount: Patriot Software at $57 a month on its Basic Payroll plan.
On its cheapest published plan, SurePayroll costs $99 a month for 10 employees, which is $9.90 per employee per month.
At 5 employees the same plan works out at $12.80 per employee — the headline figure of $7 assumes the base fee is spread over more people.
What the vendor publishes
| Plan | Base / month | Per employee / month | Eligibility as published | What the vendor states |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small Business Payroll | $29 | $7 | No headcount condition published | Multi-state add-on $9.99/month; promo "Get your FREE months when you start today", "every alternating month will be free" (terms apply) |
| Nanny and Household Payroll | $39 | — | First 1 included in the base fee | The vendor does not state an upper headcount for this flat fee, so it cannot be reduced to a monthly figure. Includes one employee; pricing for additional employees not specified. The household page shows "Now only $39/month". |
Per employee monthly (nanny and household payroll plan): not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-06).
Free trial: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-06).
Setup fee: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-06).
Minimum contract: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-06).
Add-on fees the vendor publishes
These are the extra charges SurePayroll states on the same pricing page, for things the headline price does not cover. They are the only add-on figures we hold for SurePayroll: anything else it charges is not published, and we do not estimate it. The calculator can add them for your headcount under its advanced options.
| Plan | Item | Fee | Charged | The vendor's wording |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small Business Payroll | Multi-state payroll | $9.99 | a month | "First state included. Multi-state payroll for $9.99/month." |
| Small Business Payroll | Year-end forms | $50 | a year | "Year-end W-2 and 1099-NEC forms are billed annually - not monthly - at a $50 base fee plus $5 per form" |
| Small Business Payroll | Year-end forms | $5 | a year for each form | "Year-end W-2 and 1099-NEC forms are billed annually - not monthly - at a $50 base fee plus $5 per form" |
What that works out at per employee
Vendors quote a per-employee fee and a base fee separately. What you actually pay per employee is both of them divided by your headcount, so the smaller your team, the further the real figure sits above the advertised one. This table is SurePayroll's published prices put through that division.
| Plan | 1 | 5 | 10 | 25 | 50 | 100 | 250 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small Business Payroll | $36.00 | $12.80 | $9.90 | $8.16 | $7.58 | $7.29 | $7.12 |
Columns are employee counts. Scroll sideways on a phone.
No other adjustment is applied. We do not add estimated tax-filing fees, discounts, or promotional pricing. The full method is at Method.
Where the base fee stops mattering
On Small Business Payroll, the $29 base fee is 45% of the monthly bill at 5 employees and 8% at 50. That is the whole of why the effective figure falls as a team grows: the fee does not change, the number of people carrying it does.
Who this suits, and who it does not
- If price is the only thing you are deciding on, Patriot Software is cheaper at 10 employees ($57 against $99) — see its figures.
- If your headcount is under 5, the base fee of $29 dominates the bill. Check the per-employee column at your actual size before comparing anything.
- If you are not ready to decide, wait. Published prices change without notice and the figures here are only as current as 2026-09-06. Confirm on the vendor's own page before you sign.
Price history
| Date | Plan | What changed | Was | Now |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-06 | Nanny and Household Payroll | Monthly base fee price change on the vendor's page — Published price on the vendor pricing page | $45 | $39 |
The same entries, next to every other vendor's, are on the price history (RSS).
Where each figure comes from
Every figure above is either a number SurePayroll publishes or a gap it leaves. Field by field: what we hold, which of the vendor's own pages it was read from, the day it was read, and the vendor's wording where we have it. Nothing in this table comes from a third party, and no blank is filled with an estimate.
Show the source of every figure on this page (19 fields)
| Plan | Field | What we hold | Read from | Read on | The vendor's wording |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| — | Setup fee | Not stated in the vendor's published documentation | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| — | Minimum contract | Not stated in the vendor's published documentation | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| — | Free trial | Not stated in the vendor's published documentation | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| Small Business Payroll | Monthly base fee | $29 | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| Small Business Payroll | Per-employee fee | $7 | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| Small Business Payroll | Tax calculation | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Payroll taxes calculated" |
| Small Business Payroll | Tax filing | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Federal & state payroll taxes filed & deposited" |
| Small Business Payroll | Direct deposit | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Free 2-day direct deposit" |
| Small Business Payroll | Year-end forms | Add-on | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Year-end W-2 and 1099-NEC forms are billed annually - not monthly - at a $50 base fee plus $5 per form" |
| Small Business Payroll | Multi-state filing | Add-on | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "First state included. Multi-state payroll for $9.99/month." |
| Small Business Payroll | Off-cycle runs | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Unlimited payroll runs" |
| Small Business Payroll | Multi-state payroll (add-on) | $9.99 a month | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "First state included. Multi-state payroll for $9.99/month." |
| Small Business Payroll | Year-end forms (add-on) | $50 a year | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Year-end W-2 and 1099-NEC forms are billed annually - not monthly - at a $50 base fee plus $5 per form" |
| Small Business Payroll | Year-end forms (add-on) | $5 a year for each form | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Year-end W-2 and 1099-NEC forms are billed annually - not monthly - at a $50 base fee plus $5 per form" |
| Small Business Payroll | Conditions on the price | — | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | Multi-state add-on $9.99/month; promo "Get your FREE months when you start today", "every alternating month will be free" (terms apply) |
| Nanny and Household Payroll | Monthly base fee | $39 | surepayroll.com/start/nanny-payroll | 2026-09-06 | Now only $39/month |
| Nanny and Household Payroll | Per-employee fee | Not published on the vendor's page | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| Nanny and Household Payroll | Eligibility | First 1 included in the base fee | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| Nanny and Household Payroll | Conditions on the price | — | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | Includes one employee; pricing for additional employees not specified. The household page shows "Now only $39/month". |
The same record, for every vendor, is the sources column of plans.csv on the data page.
Where to check this yourself
Go to SurePayroll and open its pricing page. Everything above comes from https://www.surepayroll.com/pricing, read on 2026-09-06.
Related
- SurePayroll compared with Patriot Software
- SurePayroll compared with OnPay
- SurePayroll compared with QuickBooks Payroll
- Alternatives to SurePayroll
- Why payroll costs more than the advertised per-employee fee
- Put your own headcount against SurePayroll in the calculator
- What payroll software costs, and where the money goes
- Gusto vs SurePayroll: level at 20 employees ($169 each), Gusto cheaper from 21
- Nanny payroll services by price: SurePayroll $39, Poppins $49, HomePay $59 and $75 a month, and what year one costs once the free months are counted
- Gusto vs Paychex pricing: Paychex Flex publishes no price; the one Paychex-owned figure, SurePayroll at $29 + $7, is below Gusto's $49 + $6 up to 19 employees and meets it at 20
- Paychex vs ADP RUN pricing: neither publishes a dollar figure; their published siblings, SurePayroll at $29 + $7 and Roll by ADP at $39 + $5, cost the same $64 at 5 employees
Written by Kaz, independent publisher.
Page last updated: 2026-10-03. Sources: vendor pricing pages only. Figures checked between 2026-08-20 and 2026-10-03. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.
Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.
Corrections: contact form.