Payroll · United States
Roll by ADP pricing: $39 monthly plus $5 per employee
At 10 employees, the cheapest plan Roll by ADP publishes is Roll by ADP: $89 a month — $8.90 per employee per month, base fee included.
- Price statusPublished list price
- Prices read onchecked 2026-09-06
- Last recorded changenone recorded since we started checking
Cheaper at this headcount: Patriot Software at $57 a month on its Basic Payroll plan.
Roll by ADP lists $39 per month plus $5 per employee. That is $89 per month for 10 employees, or $8.90 per employee with the base fee included. At 5 employees, the total is $64 per month.
This is the price for Roll by ADP, not every ADP payroll product. If you mean RUN Powered by ADP, see its separate pricing page; ADP asks for a quote for RUN.
What the vendor publishes
| Plan | Base / month | Per employee / month | Eligibility as published | What the vendor states |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roll by ADP | $39 | $5 | No headcount condition published | "Unlimited payroll for $39 / Month"; no long-term contracts; "No Hidden Fees, No Surprises, No Training"; promo "Try 3 months free*" (terms apply) |
Setup fee: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-09-06).
What that works out at per employee
Vendors quote a per-employee fee and a base fee separately. What you actually pay per employee is both of them divided by your headcount, so the smaller your team, the further the real figure sits above the advertised one. This table is Roll by ADP's published prices put through that division.
| Plan | 1 | 5 | 10 | 25 | 50 | 100 | 250 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roll by ADP | $44.00 | $12.80 | $8.90 | $6.56 | $5.78 | $5.39 | $5.16 |
Columns are employee counts. Scroll sideways on a phone.
No other adjustment is applied. We do not add estimated tax-filing fees, discounts, or promotional pricing. The full method is at Method.
Where the base fee stops mattering
On Roll by ADP, the $39 base fee is 61% of the monthly bill at 5 employees and 13% at 50. That is the whole of why the effective figure falls as a team grows: the fee does not change, the number of people carrying it does.
Who this suits, and who it does not
- If price is the only thing you are deciding on, Patriot Software is cheaper at 10 employees ($57 against $89) — see its figures.
- If your headcount is under 5, the base fee of $39 dominates the bill. Check the per-employee column at your actual size before comparing anything.
- If you are not ready to decide, wait. Published prices change without notice and the figures here are only as current as 2026-09-06. Confirm on the vendor's own page before you sign.
Where each figure comes from
Every figure above is either a number Roll by ADP publishes or a gap it leaves. Field by field: what we hold, which of the vendor's own pages it was read from, the day it was read, and the vendor's wording where we have it. Nothing in this table comes from a third party, and no blank is filled with an estimate.
Show the source of every figure on this page (11 fields)
| Plan | Field | What we hold | Read from | Read on | The vendor's wording |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| — | Setup fee | Not stated in the vendor's published documentation | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| — | Minimum contract | 0 months | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| — | Free trial | 90 days | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| Roll by ADP | Monthly base fee | $39 | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| Roll by ADP | Per-employee fee | $5 | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | |
| Roll by ADP | Tax calculation | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Taxes calculated, deducted, and paid for you" |
| Roll by ADP | Direct deposit | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Pay by direct deposit or company check" |
| Roll by ADP | Multi-state filing | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Payroll in all 50 states" and "Pay workers who live and work in different states" |
| Roll by ADP | Off-cycle runs | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Unlimited payroll (run payroll whenever you want)" |
| Roll by ADP | Contractor payments | Included | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Pay W-2 and 1099 workers" |
| Roll by ADP | Conditions on the price | — | the pricing page | 2026-09-06 | "Unlimited payroll for $39 / Month"; no long-term contracts; "No Hidden Fees, No Surprises, No Training"; promo "Try 3 months free*" (terms apply) |
The same record, for every vendor, is the sources column of plans.csv on the data page.
Where to check this yourself
Go to Roll by ADP and open its pricing page. Everything above comes from https://www.rollbyadp.com/pricing, read on 2026-09-06.
Related
- Roll by ADP compared with Patriot Software
- Roll by ADP compared with OnPay
- Roll by ADP compared with QuickBooks Payroll
- Alternatives to Roll by ADP
- Why payroll costs more than the advertised per-employee fee
- Put your own headcount against Roll by ADP in the calculator
- What payroll software costs, and where the money goes
- Gusto vs Roll by ADP: $39 + $5 with three months free against $49 + $6, a $507 gap in year one at 10 employees
- Gusto vs ADP RUN: $109 a month at 10 employees on one side, \"Get pricing\" on the other, and the six items a quote has to answer
- Paychex vs ADP RUN pricing: neither publishes a dollar figure; their published siblings, SurePayroll at $29 + $7 and Roll by ADP at $39 + $5, cost the same $64 at 5 employees
Written by Kaz, independent publisher.
Page last updated: 2026-10-03. Sources: vendor pricing pages only. Figures checked between 2026-08-20 and 2026-10-03. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.
Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.
Corrections: contact form.