Payroll + HR · United States
Paycor pricing: what it actually costs per employee at 5, 10, 25 and 50
At 10 employees, the cheapest plan Paycor publishes is Basic: $149 a month — $14.90 per employee per month, base fee included.
- Price statusPublished list price
- Prices read onchecked 2026-10-03
- Last recorded change2026-10-03 · what changed
Cheaper at this headcount: Gusto at $109 a month on its Simple plan.
On its cheapest published plan, Paycor costs $149 a month for 10 employees, which is $14.90 per employee per month.
At 5 employees the same plan works out at $24.80 per employee — the headline figure of $5 assumes the base fee is spread over more people.
What the vendor publishes
| Plan | Base / month | Per employee / month | Eligibility as published | What the vendor states |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $99 | $5 | Up to 49 employees | For businesses with under 50 employees; published list price before promotion |
| Essential | $149 | $6 | Up to 49 employees | For businesses with under 50 employees; published list price before promotion |
| Complete | $199 | $7 | Up to 49 employees | For businesses with under 50 employees; published list price before promotion |
| HCM | $199 | $12 | Up to 49 employees | For businesses with under 50 employees; published list price before promotion |
Setup fee: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-10-03).
Free trial: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-10-03).
Minimum contract: not stated in the vendor's published documentation (checked 2026-10-03).
What that works out at per employee
Vendors quote a per-employee fee and a base fee separately. What you actually pay per employee is both of them divided by your headcount, so the smaller your team, the further the real figure sits above the advertised one. This table is Paycor's published prices put through that division.
| Plan | 1 | 5 | 10 | 25 | 50 | 100 | 250 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $104.00 | $24.80 | $14.90 | $8.96 | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Essential | $155.00 | $35.80 | $20.90 | $11.96 | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Complete | $206.00 | $46.80 | $26.90 | $14.96 | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| HCM | $211.00 | $51.80 | $31.90 | $19.96 | n/a | n/a | n/a |
Columns are employee counts. Scroll sideways on a phone.
No other adjustment is applied. We do not add estimated tax-filing fees, discounts, or promotional pricing. The full method is at Method.
Who this suits, and who it does not
- If price is the only thing you are deciding on, Gusto is cheaper at 10 employees ($109 against $149) — see its figures.
- If your headcount is under 5, the base fee of $99 dominates the bill. Check the per-employee column at your actual size before comparing anything.
- If you are not ready to decide, wait. Published prices change without notice and the figures here are only as current as 2026-10-03. Confirm on the vendor's own page before you sign.
Price history
| Date | Plan | What changed | Was | Now |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-03 | — | Price status correction to our data — A separate page now publishes four small-business plan prices for fewer than 50 employees | quote on request | a published list price |
The same entries, next to every other vendor's, are on the price history (RSS).
Where each figure comes from
Every figure above is either a number Paycor publishes or a gap it leaves. Field by field: what we hold, which of the vendor's own pages it was read from, the day it was read, and the vendor's wording where we have it. Nothing in this table comes from a third party, and no blank is filled with an estimate.
Show the source of every figure on this page (27 fields)
| Plan | Field | What we hold | Read from | Read on | The vendor's wording |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| — | Setup fee | Not stated in the vendor's published documentation | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| — | Minimum contract | Not stated in the vendor's published documentation | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| — | Free trial | Not stated in the vendor's published documentation | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Basic | Monthly base fee | $99 | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Basic | Per-employee fee | $5 | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Basic | Eligibility | Up to 49 employees | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Basic | Tax filing | Included | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Basic | Direct deposit | Included | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Basic | Conditions on the price | — | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | For businesses with under 50 employees; published list price before promotion |
| Essential | Monthly base fee | $149 | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Essential | Per-employee fee | $6 | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Essential | Eligibility | Up to 49 employees | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Essential | Tax filing | Included | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Essential | Direct deposit | Included | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Essential | Conditions on the price | — | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | For businesses with under 50 employees; published list price before promotion |
| Complete | Monthly base fee | $199 | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Complete | Per-employee fee | $7 | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Complete | Eligibility | Up to 49 employees | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Complete | Tax filing | Included | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Complete | Direct deposit | Included | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| Complete | Conditions on the price | — | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | For businesses with under 50 employees; published list price before promotion |
| HCM | Monthly base fee | $199 | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| HCM | Per-employee fee | $12 | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| HCM | Eligibility | Up to 49 employees | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| HCM | Tax filing | Included | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| HCM | Direct deposit | Included | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | |
| HCM | Conditions on the price | — | the pricing page | 2026-10-03 | For businesses with under 50 employees; published list price before promotion |
The same record, for every vendor, is the sources column of plans.csv on the data page.
Where to check this yourself
Go to Paycor and open its pricing page. Everything above comes from https://www.paycor.com/plans-pricing/small-business/, read on 2026-10-03.
Related
- Paycor compared with Gusto
- Paycor compared with Homebase
- Alternatives to Paycor
- Why payroll costs more than the advertised per-employee fee
- Put your own headcount against Paycor in the calculator
- What payroll software costs, and where the money goes
- Payroll plus HR pricing in the US: 12 published plans from $109 to $400 a month for 10 employees, including Paycor's $99 + $5 small-business tier
- Quote-only payroll vendors (ADP RUN, Paychex, Paylocity, Rippling, TriNet): the seven line items to ask for, with published prices at 25 employees ($117 to $250.50) as the yardstick
Written by Kaz, independent publisher.
Page last updated: 2026-10-03. Sources: vendor pricing pages only. Figures checked between 2026-08-20 and 2026-10-03. I have not used these products. Nothing here is a personal test result.
Ranking method and formulas: Method. Listing position on this site is not for sale.
Corrections: contact form.