Open-source CRM is not free to run: SuiteCRM hosting £50 to £308 a month, EspoCRM Cloud from $45, Odoo Standard $24.90 per user
Last updated 2026-10-03. The SuiteCRM pricing page, the SuiteCRM hosted-plans page, the EspoCRM Cloud page and the Odoo pricing page were all read today; one SuiteCRM URL returned 404 and was not used.
The software license is the one line that is free. Someone still has to host it, fix it and set it up, and that is where the pages below put their prices.
| What "free" leaves out | SuiteCRM | EspoCRM | Odoo |
|---|---|---|---|
| License | Open source, free; "no per-user licensing fees" | Open source, free (self-hosted; not priced on the Cloud page) | One App Free: $0, one app, unlimited users, Odoo Online |
| Hosting | Pricing page: managed hosting "From £50 / month". Hosted page: £143 to £308 a month (£130 to £280 annual); Dedicated from £3,200 a year | Not stated for self-hosting. EspoCRM Cloud is priced per user (below) | Page says all plans include "unlimited support, hosting and maintenance". Odoo.sh hosting: "Cost for Odoo.sh hosting not included" |
| Support | Standard Support £1,200 a year (£960 with managed hosting); SuiteASSURED from £3,350 a year | Not stated for self-hosting. Cloud: "12x5 (hours/days) support" | See above; not separately priced on the page |
| Setup | Quick Start from £2,520, one time | Not stated | Not stated |
| Trial | 30 days (hosted page) | 30 days (Cloud) | "Free trial" button; length not stated |
Prices in £ and $ are shown as printed and are never converted. Every figure is a floor: VAT, tax and further add-ons are outside it.
See SuiteCRM pricing See EspoCRM Cloud pricing See Odoo pricing
Why do SuiteCRM's two pages show different prices?
Both are SuiteCRM's own pages, read the same day, and they do not match. The pricing page says "From £50 / month", which is £600 a year, and states that application support is required. The hosted-plans page lists Starter at £143 a month (£130 billed annually), "recommended for up to 10 users"; Business at £198 (£180), up to 50 users; and Premium at £308 (£280), up to 150 users. This article prints both because the pages give no way to reconcile them.
The pricing page also works an example: £600 hosting + £960 Standard Support (£1,200 less 20%) = £1,560 a year, plus £2,520 one time. Over three years that is 3 x £1,560 + £2,520 = £7,200, or £200 a month, whatever the head count. Spread across users that is the second row of the table below.
| SuiteCRM, per month (per user) | 3 users | 5 users | 10 users | 25 users |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing-page route, recurring only: £50 hosting + £80 support | £130 (£43.33) | £130 (£26.00) | £130 (£13.00) | £130 (£5.20) |
| Same route including Quick Start over 36 months | £200 (£66.67) | £200 (£40.00) | £200 (£20.00) | £200 (£8.00) |
| Hosted page, monthly billing | £143 (£47.67) Starter | £143 (£28.60) Starter | £143 (£14.30) Starter | £198 (£7.92) Business |
| Hosted page, annual billing | £130 (£43.33) Starter | £130 (£26.00) Starter | £130 (£13.00) Starter | £180 (£7.20) Business |
There is no per-user fee, so the monthly figure is flat and only the division changes. At 25 users the table uses Business because Starter is recommended for up to 10. The hosted page does not say whether support is included in its tiers.
What do EspoCRM Cloud and Odoo cost by head count?
Both are per user, and both have conditions that change small teams' bills.
| $ per month (per user) | 3 users | 5 users | 10 users | 25 users |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EspoCRM Basic, $15 (minimum 3) | $45 ($15.00) | $75 ($15.00) | $150 ($15.00) | $375 ($15.00) |
| EspoCRM Enterprise, $25 (minimum 5) | $125 ($41.67) | $125 ($25.00) | $250 ($25.00) | $625 ($25.00) |
| EspoCRM Ultimate, $69 (minimum 10) | $690 ($230.00) | $690 ($138.00) | $690 ($69.00) | $1,725 ($69.00) |
| Odoo One App Free | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Odoo Standard, billed yearly, promotional $24.90 | $74.70 ($24.90) | $124.50 ($24.90) | $249.00 ($24.90) | $622.50 ($24.90) |
| Odoo Standard, billed yearly, list $31.10 | $93.30 ($31.10) | $155.50 ($31.10) | $311.00 ($31.10) | $777.50 ($31.10) |
| Odoo Standard, billed monthly, promotional $31.10 | $93.30 ($31.10) | $155.50 ($31.10) | $311.00 ($31.10) | $777.50 ($31.10) |
| Odoo Standard, billed monthly, list $38.90 | $116.70 ($38.90) | $194.50 ($38.90) | $389.00 ($38.90) | $972.50 ($38.90) |
| Odoo Custom, billed yearly, promotional $49.00 | $147.00 ($49.00) | $245.00 ($49.00) | $490.00 ($49.00) | $1,225.00 ($49.00) |
| Odoo Custom, billed yearly, list $61.00 | $183.00 ($61.00) | $305.00 ($61.00) | $610.00 ($61.00) | $1,525.00 ($61.00) |
| Odoo Custom, billed monthly, promotional $61.10 | $183.30 ($61.10) | $305.50 ($61.10) | $611.00 ($61.10) | $1,527.50 ($61.10) |
| Odoo Custom, billed monthly, list $76.20 | $228.60 ($76.20) | $381.00 ($76.20) | $762.00 ($76.20) | $1,905.00 ($76.20) |
Arithmetic, once: EspoCRM Enterprise at 3 users is billed at its 5-user minimum, 5 x $25 = $125, so $125 / 3 = $41.67 per user you actually have. Odoo Standard yearly at 10 users is 10 x $24.90 = $249.00.
Three conditions sit under the table:
- EspoCRM Basic and Enterprise are billed for 6 months or 1 year, so 3 Basic users start at $45 x 6 = $270 or $45 x 12 = $540. Users added later are charged per month. Ultimate is not described that way.
- Odoo's promotion is "valid for 12 months, for initial users ordered". If the struck-through list price applies from month 13, 10 Standard yearly users pay $249.00 x 12 = $2,988 in year one and $311.00 x 12 = $3,732 a year after, which is 31.10 / 24.90 = 1.25x. Three years then cost $2,988 + 2 x $3,732 = $10,452, or $10,452 / (36 x 10) = $29.03 per user a month.
- Odoo's Light User is $8.90 per user a month; 10 of them are $89.00. The page does not describe what a light user can do, so this site does not compare it with the others.
EspoCRM's Cloud page lists extensions as included at no cost and caps records (100,000 on Basic, 10,000,000 on Enterprise); more records "can be extended for an additional fee". Odoo's page says "no hidden costs" for its plans.
For the free plans of hosted CRMs that do not require running anything, see article-35.
Continue with the calculator or a comparison using the same published-price method.
Calculate your team costCompare published plans for this team sizeRead the related pricing guideSources
- https://suitecrm.com/pricing/
- https://suitecrm.com/suitecrmhosted
- https://www.espocrm.com/cloud/
- https://www.odoo.com/pricing
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from the vendors' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Affiliate disclosure: vendor links on this site are currently untracked; see the disclosure page.
Written by Kaz (pen name). Published September 27, 2026. The figures above come from the vendor and review-site pages listed under Sources. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.