Business VPN trials, refunds and contract terms: who publishes what, and what a year's commitment costs if you leave in month three

The numbers first

Who lets you try before the minimum bites

VendorFree trialFree plan (not a trial)Refund
Proton VPN Business14 days; the terms say you are then "enrolled into a full-fledged paid subscription" that auto-renewsNoneFull refund within 30 days of first purchase, once per user; cash and bank transfers excluded. Business subscribers agree they are "not acting as a consumer"
GoodAccess14 days, no card neededNone"To request a refund of a service, please contact us"
Firezone30 days, Enterprise onlyStarter, free up to 6 usersThis site has not read a refund term
TailscalePage states "Business customers can enjoy a 14-day free trial of the product with no user limit" (read 2026-10-02)Personal, up to 6 users, non-commercialNot stated on the pricing page
NordLayerNot stated on the pricing pageNone"14-day money-back guarantee"; FAQ: "you can request a refund within 14 calendar days of your initial purchase"
TwingateThe customer agreement says "either party may cancel a free trial before it ends by providing written notice"; no length on the pricing pageStarter, free up to 5 users"Payment obligations are non-cancelable and Fees paid are not refundable (including for any unused portion of a Subscription Term)"
ExpressVPN for TeamsNot stated on the pricing pageNone"30-day money-back guarantee for new users"
PureVPN BusinessNot stated on the pricing pageNoneThe same page says "14-day no question asked money back" and "31-Day money-back guarantee"; which applies to Business cannot be read from it
OpenVPN CloudConnexa, NetBird, UTunnel, Windscribe, VyprVPNNot stated on the pricing pageOpenVPN Starter 5 seats; NetBird Free 5 usersThis site has not read a refund term

See Proton VPN Business pricing

See GoodAccess pricing

See NordLayer pricing

See Twingate pricing

A free plan and a free trial are kept apart on purpose. Firezone's six users, Twingate's five, OpenVPN's five seats and NetBird's five are free without an end date and capped by headcount (article-45 puts them side by side). A trial has no headcount cap and ends on a date. Proton's terms are explicit that the trial rolls into a paid subscription, so stopping it is something you do before day 14, not something that happens.

"Has not read" means this site has not yet read a terms page for that vendor beyond its pricing page. It is not a claim that there is no refund. NordLayer's terms-of-service URL returned 404 on 2026-10-02, so NordLayer's row quotes only the FAQ on its pricing page.

How far apart the two prices are

Article-08 found monthly billing 18% to 29% higher on the five plans that printed both rates when it was written. The 2026-09-07 re-read added Proton, NordLayer and ExpressVPN Teams, so seven vendors now print both.

PlanAnnual rate, per monthMonthly rateMonthly is
Twingate Teams$5.00$6.0020% more
Proton VPN and Pass Professional$10.99$12.9918% more
Proton VPN Professional$9.99$11.9920% more
Firezone Team$4.16$5.0020% more
NordLayer Lite$8.00$10.0025% more
NordLayer Core$11.00$14.0027% more
GoodAccess Premium$11.00$14.0027% more
NordLayer Premium$14.00$18.0029% more
GoodAccess Essential$7.00$9.0029% more
Proton VPN Essentials$6.99$8.9929% more
PureVPN Starter (1 to 10 seats)$7.00$9.0029% more
ExpressVPN for Teams (5 to 9 licenses)$4.68$9.74108% more

Eleven of the twelve plans stay inside the 18% to 29% band. ExpressVPN Teams is the exception: $9.74 and $4.68 are the 1-month and 12-month rates for the same license band, and the monthly rate is more than double. NordLayer is the one vendor where a fixed charge moves with the term as well: the required Server with Dedicated IP on Core and Premium reads "+$40/month" on the yearly toggle and "+$50/month" on the monthly one.

Twingate's two rates are as read on 2026-10-02 (Teams $5 yearly, $6 monthly), which this site's tables have used since that day. The 2026-09-07 reading was $4.25 and $5.00; article-41 has the detail.

A one-year plan for five people, abandoned in month three

Following this site's formula, the year's charge is the annual per-user rate x 5 x 12, set against the monthly rate x 5 x 3. Whether "annual" means twelve months paid up front or twelve monthly invoices is stated by ExpressVPN ("Auto-renews $280.80 annually for 5 licenses") and by nobody else here, so the table assumes you pay for twelve months.

PlanYear's charge (5 x 12)Three months, monthly billingDifferenceDoes any of it come back after three months?
Firezone Team$4.16 x 5 x 12 = $249.60$5 x 5 x 3 = $75.00$174.60Not read
Twingate Teams$5 x 5 x 12 = $300.00$6 x 5 x 3 = $90.00$210.00No; unused portion not refundable
ExpressVPN for Teams$280.80 (as printed)$48.70 x 3 = $146.10$134.70Within 30 days, new users
Proton VPN Essentials$6.99 x 5 x 12 = $419.40$8.99 x 5 x 3 = $134.85$284.55Within 30 days, once
GoodAccess Essential$7 x 5 x 12 = $420.00$9 x 5 x 3 = $135.00$285.00"Please contact us"
PureVPN Starter$7 x 5 x 12 = $420.00$9 x 5 x 3 = $135.00$285.0014 or 31 days; the page says both
NordLayer Lite$8 x 5 x 12 = $480.00$10 x 5 x 3 = $150.00$330.00Within 14 calendar days; nothing stated after that

Every refund window here is shorter than three months. By the time a team decides in month three that it is done, Proton's 30 days and NordLayer's 14 are behind it. The Difference column is the amount you are taking on when you pick the annual toggle.

The same arithmetic run the other way gives the month in which annual becomes the cheaper choice: the year's charge divided by the monthly rate. NordLayer Lite: $96 / $10 = 9.6 months. GoodAccess Essential, Proton Essentials and PureVPN: 9.3 months. Firezone: 10.0. Twingate: 10.0. ExpressVPN Teams alone sits at $56.16 / $9.74 = 5.8 months, so if you expect to keep it past half a year the annual rate is already the lower total.

The three that print a contract length

contract_months is filled for three vendors.

Twingate, Firezone, GoodAccess, NordLayer and Proton all print an annual per-user rate without saying on the pricing page whether "annual" is a twelve-month promise, a twelve-month prepayment, or both. Twingate's customer agreement fills some of that in: each subscription "will automatically renew for periods equal to the initial Subscription Term," non-renewal needs written notice "at least 30 days prior to a renewal date," and Twingate may change fees for renewing services with 30 days' written notice, effective from the next renewal. Proton's terms say the subscription "is renewed automatically for the duration as specified during your initial purchase." Those are the terms that decide what month three costs, and neither is on the pricing page.

What the pricing pages leave out

The cost guide covers the charges outside the per-user rate; article-43 covers Proton's two- and three-user minimums; article-50 covers GoodAccess's five-user minimum and the $49 gateway.

Who this is not for

If you have already signed, none of this applies; your term and your rate are whatever the contract says, and the pricing page stops mattering. This page also says nothing about how quickly any vendor processes a refund or what a trial lets you test. This site has not used these products.

Sources

Related on this site


Written by Kaz (pen name). Published October 2, 2026. Prices were checked on the dates given under Sources. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.