Oyster charges $699 and RemoFirst $199. Where does the $500 a month go?

Summary

Summary

Most of it maps onto three differences in kind. Oyster's figure is a list price, it employs through its own entities in some countries, and it takes a deposit before anything is signed. RemoFirst's figure is a starting price, it employs through local partners, and it promises no fees around the edges. For one person over a year that is $8,388 against $2,388. The $6,000 weighs more the lower the salary: on $30,000 in the United States the fee is 28% of pay at Oyster and 8% at RemoFirst. Two things keep the gap from being final. RemoFirst's $199 rises in some countries, and its page does not say whether it takes a deposit.

The year, with the salary beside it

On this site's US formula:

US salaryStatutory employer costOyster fee, yearShare of salaryRemoFirst fee, yearShare of salary
$30,000$2,337$8,38828.0%$2,3888.0%
$90,000$6,927$8,3889.3%$2,3882.7%
$180,000$13,812$8,3884.7%$2,3881.3%

On the first row Oyster's fee is 3.6 times the statutory cost. On the last, both fees are under half of it and the difference fades.

What Oyster's page states and RemoFirst's does not

What RemoFirst's page states and Oyster's does not

Where the $500 goes

Oyster's list price carries a deposit up front, four billing currencies, reusable annual seats and, in some countries, employment through Oyster's own entity. RemoFirst's starting price carries partner employment and a promise of nothing extra.

"Goes" is the wrong verb. Part of Oyster's $500 pays for things Oyster keeps (its own entities), part for things it hands you (currencies, seats). RemoFirst has neither and is cheaper for it. Which is the better deal depends on whether the currencies and the seats are worth anything to you.

The two open items

  1. What RemoFirst's $199 becomes in your country. The page says only that it "may vary based on local country requirements."
  2. Whether RemoFirst takes a deposit. Third parties say a month's salary; no primary source confirms it.

If the answers come back "$199, no deposit," the gap is $6,000. If they come back "$299 in your country, one month's deposit," the gap is $4,800 and the signing month costs the same cash at both.

Oyster HRRemoFirst
Published EOR fee$699, list, annual discount availableFrom $199, starting, varies by country
One employee, 12 months$8,388$2,388
DepositNormally one month, before any agreementNot stated; unconfirmed
Employing entityOwned entities and partnersPartners
Billing currenciesUSD, EUR, GBP, CADNot stated
ContractorsFree 30 days, then $29Free tier, or Premium at $25
Checked2026-10-012026-10-01

See Oyster HR EOR pricing See RemoFirst EOR pricing

Sources

Related on this site

Related on this site

Written by Kaz, independent publisher. No commercial relationship with the providers named unless it is listed on the disclosure page.

Page last updated 2026-10-05. Sources are listed per figure and labeled statutory or payroll reference. Rates last verified 2026-08-21. This is not legal, tax or payroll advice and we do not file anyone's payroll.

Every formula on this site is written out in full on Method. Ordering is by computed cost, never by what a provider pays us.

Corrections: contact form.