Cloudflare Zero Trust pricing: $0 under 50 users, $7 per user paid annually above that, and a plans page that prints neither
The numbers first
- Free Plan: "$0 forever", described as "Best for teams under 50 users or enterprise proof-of-concept tests."
- Pay-as-you-go: "$7 per user/month (paid annually)", described as "Best for teams over 50 users solving narrow SSE use cases and that do not require enterprise support services."
- Contract Plan: "Custom price", same unit, per user/month (paid annually). "Talk to an expert."
- Those three columns sit on cloudflare.com/sase/products/access/, a product page. The page this site recorded as the pricing URL, cloudflare.com/plans/zero-trust-services/, prints "Start a proof of concept with our free plan today", "Contact sales" and "Contact us to learn more about SASE packaging options", and nothing with a dollar sign.
- A monthly-billing rate, a minimum user count and whether 50 is a hard cap are not stated on the pages read.
- This site's dataset recorded Cloudflare One as quote-only on 2026-09-07. The figures above were read on 2026-10-02, and the row was corrected the same day: Pay-as-you-go at $7 is now in the tables; the Free Plan is listed but not computed.
Which page has the figures
Two URLs need to be kept apart.
cloudflare.com/plans/zero-trust-services/ is titled "Zero Trust & SASE Plans & Pricing", so by name it is the pricing page. Its text touches price in three places: "Looking for Cloudflare One plans?", "Start a proof of concept with our free plan today." and "Contact us to learn more about SASE packaging options." There is no dollar sign on it. When this site read that URL in September and filed Cloudflare One as quote-only, this is the text it read.
cloudflare.com/sase/products/access/ is the product page for Cloudflare Access, the ZTNA piece. Part way down it has a section headed "Pricing" with the line "Cloudflare Access control features available across the full zero trust platform", and under it three columns: Free Plan, Pay-as-you-go, Contract Plan, with $0 and $7 printed.
The developer docs landing page says only that "Cloudflare Zero Trust offers both Free and Paid plans" and points to the plans page for detail. So the official path leads to a page with no figures; the figures are inside a product page.
| Plan | Price as printed | Who the page says it is for | Button |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free Plan | $0 forever | Best for teams under 50 users or enterprise proof-of-concept tests | Get started |
| Pay-as-you-go | $7 per user/month (paid annually) | Best for teams over 50 users solving narrow SSE use cases and that do not require enterprise support services | Get started |
| Contract Plan | Custom price, per user/month (paid annually) | Best for organizations building toward a full-featured SSE or SASE deployment that also desire maximum support | Talk to an expert |
Links on this page currently go directly to providers without affiliate tracking.
"$0 under 50 users" through this site's formula
The formula here is: users billed = max(users, minimum users); monthly total = per-user price x users billed + required fixed charge; per person = total / users. The Free Plan has no per-user price, and the page states no minimum and no fixed charge, so for 2, 10 or 49 people the total is $0 and the per-person figure is $0.
Two cautions. First, the wording. The page says "Best for teams under 50 users"; it does not say "up to 50 users". Whether 50 is a hard stop or a recommendation cannot be settled from that sentence, and this site records it as not stated. For that reason the Free Plan is listed on the vendor page but left out of the tables: a $0 line with no stated headcount limit would show $0.00 at every team size.
Second, the contrast with Tailscale. Tailscale's free Personal plan covers six users and its FAQ says it is "only suitable for non-commercial use". The Free Plan column on Cloudflare's Access page has no sentence restricting commercial use in the text read; it goes as far as naming "enterprise proof-of-concept tests" as a use. The free tiers side by side are in the free business VPN tiers article; the one-to-one with Tailscale is Tailscale vs Cloudflare Zero Trust.
The Get started page in the developer docs adds one practical point: "If you chose the Zero Trust Free plan, this step is still needed but you will not be charged." The step is entering payment details. $0 still means a card on file.
What $7 paid annually comes to
Pay-as-you-go is placed by Cloudflare "for teams over 50 users", so the arithmetic starts at 51. $7 x 51 = $357 a month, $4,284 a year. At 100 users, $7 x 100 = $700 a month, $8,400 a year, and $25,200 on this site's three-year basis (monthly total x 36).
The rate does not change with headcount, so the per-person figure is $7.00 at any size. In this site's US-dollar ZTNA table at 100 users, three plans now sit at exactly $7.00, all on annual billing: Cloudflare Pay-as-you-go, GoodAccess Essential and OpenVPN CloudConnexa Essential. They sit under NordLayer Lite and Tailscale Standard at $8.00 and above Firezone Team at $4.16 and Twingate Teams at $5.00.
"Paid annually" tells you $7 is the annual-billing rate. No monthly-billing rate is printed. Whether the year is invoiced up front or in twelve parts is not stated either.
Not on the page
- A monthly-billing rate.
- A minimum number of users billed.
- Whether 50 users is a cap or a guideline for the Free Plan.
- Devices per user.
- Tax.
- The Contract Plan's price, and the headcount at which it starts.
One charge that is stated and does not follow seats: Log Explorer is "Free for the first 10 GB, $1 per GB per month after" on the Free and Pay-as-you-go plans, "Custom pricing" on Enterprise. If you keep logs for long, that line grows with log volume, not with people.
How this site's row changed
Until 2026-10-02, the Cloudflare One vendor page carried the 2026-09-07 reading: a free plan "to start a proof of concept", no user cap and no figures published. That was true of the URL it read, and the text of that URL is unchanged today.
The row now reads the Access page. The change log shows three lines for 2026-10-02: the pricing URL moved to the Access page, visibility went from quote-only to published, and Pay-as-you-go's annual per-user price went from none to 7. The Free Plan's "under 50 users" is kept in the plan's notes, not as a user limit. The count of "contact sales" vendors on the ZTNA pricing page stays at seven, because Perimeter 81 moved into that group on the same day (article-42). The classification follows which URL was read on which date, as set out in the vendors that publish nothing.
Who this is not for
A team under 50 that needs a free tier with a written cap, rather than a "best for" sentence, does not get that certainty here. Anyone who needs a monthly-billing rate does not get one either.
Sources
- https://www.cloudflare.com/sase/products/access/ — checked 2026-10-02 (source of $0, $7 and Custom price)
- https://www.cloudflare.com/plans/zero-trust-services/ — checked 2026-10-02 (no figures; "Contact sales")
- https://www.cloudflare.com/zero-trust/ — checked 2026-10-02 (no figures)
- https://developers.cloudflare.com/cloudflare-one/ — checked 2026-10-02 ("Free and Paid plans")
- https://developers.cloudflare.com/cloudflare-one/setup/ — checked 2026-10-02 (payment details required on the Free plan)
- https://developers.cloudflare.com/cloudflare-one/account-limits/ — checked 2026-10-02 (no user-count table by plan)
- https://seatbill.com/vpn-pricing/d/cloudflare-one — checked 2026-10-02
- https://seatbill.com/vpn-pricing/ztna-cost — checked 2026-10-02
Related on this site
- [[Cloudflare One pricing: what a user costs with minimums and fixed charges]](d/cloudflare-one.html)
- [[Tailscale vs Cloudflare Zero Trust: a comparison of conditions]](article-49.html)
- [[Free business VPN tiers side by side]](article-45.html)
- [[The vendors that publish nothing]](article-03.html)
- [[ZTNA pricing: what zero-trust network access costs per user]](ztna-cost.html)
- [[Business VPN cost per user calculator]](tool.html)
Written by Kaz (pen name). Published October 2, 2026. Prices were checked on the dates given under Sources. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.