Tailscale vs Cloudflare Zero Trust: $8 a month against $0 under 50 users and $7 paid annually
In one table
| Tailscale | Cloudflare Zero Trust | |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Personal: up to 6 users, "only suitable for non-commercial use" | Free Plan: $0, "Best for teams under 50 users or enterprise proof-of-concept tests" |
| Paid rate | Standard $8 / Premium $18 per user per month, billed monthly | Pay-as-you-go $7 per user/month, "paid annually", "for teams over 50 users" |
| Annual rate | Not stated (Enterprise may pay by annual invoice) | $7 is the annual rate; no monthly-billing rate stated |
| Minimum users | Not stated | Not stated |
| Charges that are not seats | 50 tagged resources included, then $1 each per month | Log Explorer: 10 GB free, then $1 per GB per month; device counts not stated |
| Trial | 14 days, no user limit | Not stated; payment details required even on Free (developer docs) |
| Quote tier | Enterprise: Custom | Contract Plan: Custom price |
| In this site's tables | Yes | Pay-as-you-go since 2026-10-02 (recorded quote-only on 2026-09-07); the Free Plan is listed but not computed |
Links on this page currently go directly to providers without affiliate tracking.
Links on this page currently go directly to providers without affiliate tracking.
This is a comparison of conditions, not a ranking
This site's vs pages line up two vendors by cost per person at 2, 10 and 50 users, same currency, same formula. Three things stop that here.
First, Cloudflare's figures reached the dataset only on 2026-10-02. The plans page read on 2026-09-07 said "Contact sales" and nothing else; the $0 and $7 sit on a different page, the Access product page. The Cloudflare pricing article traces that. The Cloudflare One vendor page now reads the Access page, and only Pay-as-you-go is computed.
Second, the billing periods differ. Tailscale's $8 is a monthly-billing rate with no annual rate printed. Cloudflare's $7 is "paid annually" with no monthly rate printed. This site takes the annual rate where both are published; here each vendor publishes one, and putting $8 and $7 in a single column would pretend the period does not matter. Across the vendors that print both, monthly billing runs 18% to 29% above annual, and a $1 gap on $8 falls inside that range.
Third, the free tiers mean different things. Tailscale's Personal is "only suitable for non-commercial use", so it drops out of any company's table. Cloudflare's Free Plan is written for "teams under 50 users" and the text read contains no restriction on commercial use. For a company under 50 that makes it $0 against $8, except that "best for ... under 50 users" is not the same sentence as "up to 50 users", and the page does not say which it means.
With those three on the record, what follows sets conditions side by side.
Under 50 users
Tailscale Standard for 10 people is $8 x 10 = $80 a month, $2,880 on this site's three-year basis. Two people pay $16 a month; 25 pay $200. With no minimum, the per-person figure is $8.00 at every size. Premium is $18 x 10 = $180 a month, $6,480 over three years.
Cloudflare's Free Plan is $0. For 10 or 49 people, read literally, the month costs nothing. Payment details still go on file.
The real comparison is not $80 against $0 but the terms attached to the $0. Cloudflare's Free Plan column names "enterprise proof-of-concept tests" as a use. Tailscale's Personal column is for "individuals" and non-commercial use. One free tier assumes a company will use it; the other assumes a company will not.
Over 50 users
Cloudflare's Pay-as-you-go is "for teams over 50 users". At 100, $7 x 100 = $700 a month, $8,400 a year, $25,200 over three years. Tailscale Standard at 100 is $8 x 100 = $800 a month, $28,800 over three years. The gap is $100 a month, $3,600 over three years.
That $100 contains the annual-versus-monthly difference. Tailscale publishes no annual rate for Standard, so the gap on equal terms is unknown. Its FAQ says an Enterprise plan can pay by annual invoice, but Enterprise is priced as Custom.
Tailscale alternatives ranked by cost per user lists only vendors in this site's tables. Since 2026-10-02 Cloudflare Pay-as-you-go appears there at $7.00. The tables apply that rate at every team size, because "for teams over 50 users" is printed as a recommendation, not a minimum.
What is not a seat
Tailscale: "User devices are free and unlimited." Tagged resources, meaning servers, subnet routers and other shared infrastructure, are included up to 50, and each one after that is $1 a month. How much does Tailscale cost for a business? covers the exit-node case where that line moves. The FAQ read on 2026-10-02 also says "we are currently not enforcing the hard limits or overages of ACL groups, multiple tailnets, tagged resources, and ephemeral resources"; the published rate is still $1, and $1 is what this site records.
Cloudflare's Access page has no device line. Its non-seat charge is Log Explorer: 10 GB free on Free and Pay-as-you-go, then $1 per GB per month. Log volume follows how you run things, not how many people you have.
The questions that settle it
- Under 50 users, do you intend to use the free tier as a company? Tailscale's Personal excludes that. Cloudflare's Free Plan does not exclude it, and does not print a hard cap either.
- Can you commit to annual billing? If yes, Cloudflare's $7 is the figure as printed and Tailscale's annual rate is a question for its sales team. If you can only bill monthly, Tailscale's $8 is the figure as printed and Cloudflare's monthly rate is the question.
- How many servers and routers will be on the network? Past 50, Tailscale adds $1 each. Cloudflare prints no device count, so ask.
- Do you need a trial? Tailscale prints 14 days with no user limit. Cloudflare's page prints no trial; its Free Plan is written as the proof-of-concept route.
Who this is not for
If you want the two vendors on one per-person line at the same billing period, this article cannot give it: one annual rate and one monthly rate are unpublished. Which product works better is outside what this site does.
Sources
- https://tailscale.com/pricing — checked 2026-10-02
- https://www.cloudflare.com/sase/products/access/ — checked 2026-10-02 (source of $0 and $7)
- https://www.cloudflare.com/plans/zero-trust-services/ — checked 2026-10-02 (no figures)
- https://developers.cloudflare.com/cloudflare-one/setup/ — checked 2026-10-02 (payment details on the Free plan)
- https://seatbill.com/vpn-pricing/d/tailscale — checked 2026-10-02
- https://seatbill.com/vpn-pricing/d/cloudflare-one — checked 2026-10-02
- https://seatbill.com/vpn-pricing/article-39 — checked 2026-10-02
Related on this site
- [[Tailscale pricing: free Personal vs $8 per user Standard]](d/tailscale.html)
- [[Cloudflare One pricing: what a user costs with minimums and fixed charges]](d/cloudflare-one.html)
- [[How much does Tailscale cost for a business?]](article-39.html)
- [[Cloudflare Zero Trust pricing: $0, $7 and a plans page that prints neither]](article-44.html)
- [[Tailscale alternatives, ranked by cost per user]](alt/tailscale-alternatives.html)
- [[Monthly business VPN pricing runs 18% to 29% higher]](article-08.html)
- [[Business VPN cost per user calculator]](tool.html)
Written by Kaz (pen name). Published October 2, 2026. Prices were checked on the dates given under Sources. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.