Skuad and RemoFirst both start at $199. What tells them apart?
Summary
Summary
Not the price. Both are $199 starting prices, Skuad adding "volume discounts available" and RemoFirst "may vary based on local country requirements." What separates them is everything around the number, and RemoFirst's page promises more of it: no fees, no minimums, a free contractor tier, health cover from $55. Skuad's side has the discount and a $99 agent of record, where Skuad carries the contractor's engagement. Neither mentions a deposit. The one difference in kind: RemoFirst says it delivers through local partners, and Skuad's page does not address the question.
Inside the same $199
| Skuad | RemoFirst | |
|---|---|---|
| EOR | From $199, volume discounts | From $199, varies by country |
| Fees around the edges | Not stated | No setup, onboarding or termination fees |
| Minimums | Not stated | None, in term or headcount |
| Contractor management | CMS, $19 per contractor per month | Free tier, or Premium at $25 |
| Provider carries the contractor engagement | Agent of Record, $99 | Not published |
| Insurance | Not stated | RemoHealth from $55, optional |
| Countries | Not recorded by this site | 185+ |
| Employing entity | Not stated | Vetted in-country partners |
| Deposit | Not stated | Not stated; unconfirmed |
| Checked | 2026-09-06 | 2026-10-01 |
A discount points down, a variation points up
Same word, "from," different direction. Skuad's caveat lowers the price with headcount; RemoFirst's raises it with the country. A company hiring one person never reaches Skuad's discount and may well meet RemoFirst's variation. A company hiring ten at once has it the other way round.
Neither page gives a range. Whether the quote lands above or below $199 is what ranks these two, and only the quote can say.
If you also use contractors, this is where they part
With the EOR fee equal, the contractor products carry the difference. For payments and paperwork alone, RemoFirst's free tier is the cheapest option in this site's table and Skuad's is $19. To move misclassification risk onto the provider, Skuad's agent of record is $99 and RemoFirst publishes no price.
Published contractor-of-record and agent-of-record prices in the table: Native Teams $99, Skuad $99, Horizons $199, Papaya $199, Deel $325, Remote $325, Multiplier $400. Skuad is in the cheapest band.
Whose name is on the contract
RemoFirst's pricing page says it works through vetted in-country partners. Skuad's page says nothing on the point. "Nothing" does not mean "own entity"; it means unknown.
This is the difference that decides who you talk to when something goes wrong. For both, the first question in the quote is the same: in this country, which company's name appears as the employer on the contract?
The year
Fees are $2,388 at either, in a $199 country. A $90,000 hire in the United States comes to $99,315 with $6,927 of statutory cost; a $30,000 hire to $34,725, with the fee at 8.0% of pay. Most people comparing these two are comparing them on the lower row.
See Skuad EOR pricing See RemoFirst EOR pricing
Links on this page currently go directly to providers without affiliate tracking.
Sources
- https://www.skuad.io/pricing (as read 2026-09-06))
- https://www.remofirst.com/price
- https://seatbill.com/employer-of-record/providers
Related on this site
- RemoFirst's $199
- Native Teams at $99 and RemoFirst at $199
- Who employs your hire in a country where the EOR has no entity of its own?
- When you work with someone abroad through a platform, who signs with them and who carries the risk?
Related on this site
- Horizons (RemotePeople) and Skuad both charge $199. One is a list price and one is a starting price. Does that matter?
- RemoFirst's $199: what the page promises, what it leaves open, and who signs the contract
Written by Kaz, independent publisher. No commercial relationship with the providers named unless it is listed on the disclosure page.
Page last updated 2026-10-05. Sources are listed per figure and labeled statutory or payroll reference. Rates last verified 2026-08-21. This is not legal, tax or payroll advice and we do not file anyone's payroll.
Every formula on this site is written out in full on Method. Ordering is by computed cost, never by what a provider pays us.
Corrections: contact form.