Playroll and Velocity Global (Pebl) both start at $399. Where do the two mid-priced EORs differ?
Summary
Summary
In how much the page answers before you ask. Playroll attaches to its $399 a refundable deposit of about one month's salary, no minimum commitment, and contractor management at a flat $35 a month. Pebl, formerly Velocity Global, put $399 on its page for the first time on 2026-09-06; its FAQ says country pricing comes by quote, and there is no contractor price. Both are starting prices and both are $2,400 a year under Deel's $599. Only Playroll names its deposit in advance; neither names its employing entity.
The $399 row
These two are the whole of the $399 row in this site's table, between the three at $199 and the two at $499. It is a position where the cheap providers' promises and the expensive providers' conditions can both look half-present, which is why the useful split is what each page says up front.
One rebrand
Velocity Global now trades as Pebl, with its pricing at hellopebl.com. This site keeps the Velocity Global name in the table and points the link at the new domain. On the first reading, 21 August, the site showed no dollar figure at all. On 6 September "$399 per employee per month" appeared, logged as "provider began publishing a price," the same day G-P published its $599.
What each page answers
| Playroll | Velocity Global (Pebl) | |
|---|---|---|
| EOR | From $399, monthly | From $399 |
| What raises it | Not stated | Country-specific pricing by quote (FAQ) |
| Minimum commitment | None, stated | Not stated |
| Deposit | Refundable, about one month's salary, stated | Not stated |
| Contractor management | Flat $35 a month, regardless of headcount | Not published |
| Published since | Earlier | 2026-09-06 |
| Checked | 2026-09-06 | 2026-09-06 |
Playroll's flat $35 for contractor management is the only fee of that shape among the fourteen. For one contractor it is under Deel's $49; for five it works out at $7 each.
Why naming the deposit matters
Playroll says "about one month's salary." That is an easier ceiling to read than Deel's "from one to one and a half months of all charges, rising with terms," and the same band as Oyster's "normally one month." The signing month's cash can be worked out before the quote.
Pebl says nothing. Its $399 beats Playroll's only if the quote comes back with no deposit, or with the country price still at $399, and neither can be read off the page.
What $2,400 means
| US salary | Statutory employer cost | A $399 provider, year | Share | Deel at $599, year | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $30,000 | $2,337 | $4,788 | 16.0% | $7,188 | 24.0% |
| $90,000 | $6,927 | $4,788 | 5.3% | $7,188 | 8.0% |
Either provider is $2,400 a year under Deel. People looking at this row usually feel that the $199 providers say too little and $599 is too much. Against that, Playroll's page promises more than the $199 providers do, and Pebl's still promises less than the $599 ones.
Questions for each
Playroll: is $399 the price in my country; whose entity employs the person; is notice to Playroll required before an offboarding.
Pebl: what is the price in my country (is it still $399); is there a deposit; is there a contractor price; whose entity employs the person.
Pebl gets one question more. That question is the deposit, and it is the one that sets the cash in the month you sign.
See Playroll EOR pricing See Velocity Global EOR pricing
Links on this page currently go directly to providers without affiliate tracking.
Sources
- https://www.playroll.com/pricing/employer-of-record (as read 2026-09-06))
- https://hellopebl.com/eor-pricing/ (as read 2026-09-06))
- https://seatbill.com/employer-of-record/changes
- https://seatbill.com/employer-of-record/c/us
Related on this site
- Who publishes an EOR price and who makes you ask
- What does an EOR charge you on top of the monthly fee?
- Alternatives to Deel, ranked by the published fee
- What changed (changes)
Related on this site
- Horizons (RemotePeople) and Skuad both charge $199. One is a list price and one is a starting price. Does that matter?
- Atlas and G-P both start at $599. Which of the two will you be able to read on the invoice?
Written by Kaz, independent publisher. No commercial relationship with the providers named unless it is listed on the disclosure page.
Page last updated 2026-10-05. Sources are listed per figure and labeled statutory or payroll reference. Rates last verified 2026-08-21. This is not legal, tax or payroll advice and we do not file anyone's payroll.
Every formula on this site is written out in full on Method. Ordering is by computed cost, never by what a provider pays us.
Corrections: contact form.