Zero-trust costs beyond the seat: connectors, gateways and servers

The scenario

The nine charges that are not per user

VendorChargeAmountRequired?How it is counted
NordLayer Core / PremiumServer with Dedicated IP$40 a monthRequiredOne per network. The yearly-billing figure; the monthly toggle shows $50
UTunnel Basic / StandardMinimum Gateway Cost$5 a monthRequired (cloud gateway)One cloud gateway. $0 if you bring your own server
GoodAccess (all three plans)Dedicated gateway$49 a monthOptionalPer gateway
OpenVPN CloudConnexaConnectorOne seat ($7 on Essential)Not required, but every connector takes a seat"A seat represents either an activated user or a connector"
Tailscale (every plan)Tagged resources50 included, then $1 a month eachOnly past 50Exit nodes, subnet routers and other devices with no person behind them
NetBird Team / BusinessAdditional machines€0.50 a month eachOnly past the allowance100 machines + 10 per user included
ExpressVPN for TeamsDedicated IP for Teams$390 a year per location ($32.50 a month)OptionalPer location
PureVPN BusinessStatic IP$5.99 a month per member ($4.99 yearly)OptionalPer member who takes one
PureVPN BusinessTeam Server$50 a monthOptionalThe page gives the amount; the unit it is charged per could not be read

Twingate and Firezone put no price on a connector or gateway. Firezone runs gateways on your own infrastructure, and its pricing page only caps Sites (10 on Starter, 100 on Team) and service accounts. Twingate's page prices no connector and lists "static IPs" under Enterprise.

Ten people, one connector, one dedicated IP

Vendor and planSeatsConnectorDedicated IPMonthlyPer person
Firezone Team$4.16 x 10 = $41.60No price on the pageNot stated$41.60$4.16
Twingate Teams$5 x 10 = $50 (read 2026-10-02)No price on the pageAn Enterprise item, price not published$50$5.00
UTunnel Standard$8 x 10 = $80Cloud gateway $5 (a static IP is in Basic; site-to-site is a Standard feature)Included with the gateway$85$8.50
OpenVPN CloudConnexa Essential$7 x 11 seats = $77 (the connector is a seat)One seat = $7Not stated$77$7.70
Tailscale Standard$8 x 10 = $80One tagged device, $0 inside the 50Not stated$80$8.00
GoodAccess Essential$7 x 10 = $70No separate price on the pageDedicated gateway $49 (optional)$119$11.90
NordLayer Core$11 x 10 = $110No separate price on the pageServer with Dedicated IP $40 (required)$150$15.00
NordLayer Premium$14 x 10 = $140As above$40 (required)$180$18.00
ExpressVPN Teams, 12 months (reference)$4.37 x 10 = $43.70 (10-19 license tier)No matching item$390 a year / 12 = $32.50$76.20$7.62
PureVPN Business Starter, yearly (reference)$7 x 10 = $70No matching itemOne member's static IP, $4.99$74.99$7.50
NetBird Team (euros, ranked apart)€6 x 10 = €60One machine, €0 inside the 200Not stated€60€6.00

Scroll sideways on a phone.

ExpressVPN and PureVPN publish tiered "from" prices and are kept out of this site's rankings; they are here for reference because they carry non-seat items. NetBird is in euros and is never converted, so it is not placed in the order.

One row changed on 2026-10-02. Until then this site's tables computed Twingate Teams from the $4.25 yearly price read on 2026-09-07, which gave $42.50 for ten. The page re-read that day shows $5, and the tables now use it; article-41 has the details.

At OpenVPN, a connector eats a seat

The CloudConnexa pricing page says in its FAQ that "A seat represents either an activated user or a connector in your CloudConnexa environment", and that a connector consumes a seat the moment it is created, online or not. Ten people plus one connector is eleven seats: $7 x 11 = $77 on Essential, or $7.70 a head against the printed $7. A second site makes it twelve seats and $84.

The free Starter plan has "5 seats included". Four people and one connector fill it.

Tailscale and NetBird count devices

Tailscale prices no connector and instead counts devices with no person behind them as tagged resources. Each plan includes 50; from the 51st they are $1 a month apiece (article-39). One subnet router at the office is inside the allowance and costs nothing. Connect sixty servers and the bill grows by $10 a month.

NetBird includes 100 machines plus 10 per user. Ten people get 200, and the office connector is one of them. Beyond that, €0.50 a month each.

Neither charge fits a divide-by-headcount formula: it is $0 while the device count is small and rises in a straight line after that. What changes when the unit is a person, a device or a server is set out in article-07.

Where the line between required and optional sits

This site adds a fixed charge to the per-user figure only when the pricing page says "required" or the vendor's own calculator adds it to the total. NordLayer prints "+$40/month required". UTunnel's calculator adds $5 by default. Those two are inside the per-user numbers in the tables.

GoodAccess's $49, ExpressVPN's $390, PureVPN's $5.99 and $50 are optional and stay out. If you need one, add it yourself the way the scenario above does. $49 across ten people is $4.90 each; across two, $24.50. A fixed charge weighs most on the smallest team.

What the pricing pages do not price

Five vendors print a figure for a dedicated IP: NordLayer, UTunnel (a static IP comes with the gateway), GoodAccess (a dedicated gateway), ExpressVPN and PureVPN. Firezone, OpenVPN CloudConnexa, Tailscale and NetBird have no dedicated IP line on their pricing pages, and this site writes "not stated". That is not read as free and not read as unavailable. Twingate places "static IPs" under Enterprise with no price.

Only two vendors put a number on a connector: OpenVPN, by counting it as a seat, and UTunnel, by charging $5 for the gateway. The others handle it with a device allowance (Tailscale, NetBird, Firezone's Sites) or say nothing. The general question of what a published price leaves out is covered at article-04 and guide-cost.

Who this is not for

A single-site team that needs no dedicated IP has nothing to add; the per-seat figures at ztna-cost and 10-users are the whole answer.

Sources

Related on this site


Written by Kaz (pen name). Published October 2, 2026. Prices were checked on the dates given under Sources. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.